Are You Kidding Me, Leeza?

It’s Sunday morning, and as we eat breakfast we listen to a local radio station that plays Leeza Gibbon’s radio show. Today she is featuring a guest that is talking about diet secrets of the stars. Here are a few examples I heard in the short interview:

– don’t drink diet Coke – apparently you’re 2 times more likely to gain weight if you drink it. No, there was no evidence given.
– put cinnamon on your cereal or in your coffee instead of sugar – they say it regulates your blood sugar better, so stops those pesky cravings for sweets.
– if you’re hungry, just have a breath mint or use one of those breath strips – it numbs your taste buds and that will hopefully subside those cravings.

Okay, these seem kind of reasonable, but then it kind of occurs to me that all of the suggestions are basically saying “try not to eat” and especially “don’t eat what you’re craving” – because heaven forbid we have a good relationship with food instead of feeling guilty for wanting one cookie.

They go on to say that all the “stars” they interviewed for their book fully admitted that it’s a struggle every single day to keep their figure so they can appear on their TV shows, movies, and on the red carpet.

Does anyone else see anything wrong with this? Why are women all over the world struggling day in and day out to obtain some unrealistic body type? I have even heard women admitting they’re scared to get pregnant because they don’t want to gain weight!! Or, even worse, obsessing about how much they do gain while pregnant!! What is the world coming too?

For the last year or so I’ve been really trying to be healthy, but not nutty about things. I enjoy food – I love eating things like macaroni and cheese, cupcakes and nachos. But I also love asparagus, yogurt and fruit. I try to be active and eat what I want when I want, and it’s worked for me. And you know what? I’m happier than I ever was when I was constantly “watching” what I ate. There’s no reason why we can’t have our cake and eat it too.

I really hope that this obsession with food and our bodies is a phase and will pass eventually. Until then, sorry Leeza, I’m not listening to your show any more.

Comments on: "Are You Kidding Me, Leeza?" (2)

  1. I found this old link, which is veeery long, but super interesting. If you don't have time to read it, scroll down to the list near the end. I think you'd like #7 🙂 But I do recommend reading it in its entirety at some point.http://www.nytimes.com/2007/01/28/magazine/28nutritionism.t.html?ei=5090&en=a18a7f35515014c7&ex=1327640400&partner=rssuserland&emc=rss&pagewanted=all

    Like

  2. oops, I guess I need to embed the link: < HREF="http://www.nytimes.com/2007/01/28/magazine/28nutritionism.t.html?ei=5090&en=a18a7f35515014c7&ex=1327640400&partner=rssuserland&emc=rss&pagewanted=all" REL="nofollow">This is the link!<>

    Like

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

