Holy Crap…

…I had an amazing day at work today! In fact, yesterday was awesome too. I even caught myself thinking “I love doing this!” today! Holy man! Why the big change of opinion, you might ask? It’s all because I started to read papers. Yup, that’s it!

Last Friday I was working on my second paper and kept getting stuck over and over again. I realized I didn’t have a decent enough background to start writing yet (this project is different from the other two, which I’ve focused most of the last 3.5 years on). So, I looked at some of the more common references in the papers I already had and found four major papers that basically do what I’m doing with my data (although my project is much smaller). I read one on Friday, two over the weekend (unheard of for me!) and the last one yesterday.

I feel much more confident with what I’m doing now! In fact, I had a meeting with my supervisor today and I was telling him all my ideas for my data analysis and he seemed impressed! It was one of the first times where I felt we were having more of a conversation than him just telling me what to do.

Now I wish I had started reading papers earlier! I’m one of those people that don’t really read anything until I have too (i.e., when studying for a course or writing a paper or a thesis). DH always was so good about reading papers, and I realize now how important it is. I’ve made so much progress on my paper in the last two days – it’s incredible!

So, my goal now is to read one paper per day, in the evening when I’m at home (and would otherwise be watching the 30th re-run of Friends or The Simpson’s). I figure if I do this for the next month or so I’ll be caught up and ready to start writing my thesis intro!

Comments on: "Holy Crap…" (2)

  1. Hooray!!! I am so excited for you. You are doing great. You’ll be there in no time!

    Like

  2. That sounds great! I tend to go the opposite way – I’m reluctant to start anything until I know everything I possibly can about it so I read a ton of papers first. It can be a problem though, because it makes me really slow to actually get things done and it made my lit review harder than it had to be. So, balance is probably important. Sounds like you’re on track now, must be exciting to be getting closer to having that 2nd paper submitted!

    Like

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

