Weekly PDRP

It’s time for some ubber-positiveness!!!

1. I finished the first draft of my second paper and gave it to my supervisor on Friday!!

2. I started working on my thesis intro and got the historical overview chunk done!!

3. We just had a long weekend (hence why this post is later than usual)!!!!

4. DH got word from his boss that he can take time off in August to go to South America!!! We are going to narrow down our choices this week and book soon!!

5. It’s reading week —- no undergrads!!!!!!!!!! WOOOHHOOOO!!!!!

6. I finally started standing up for myself, and did a couple things this week that I normally wouldn’t do – and mostly without guilt! (okay, still need to work on that)

7. I won a competition in my spinning class on Saturday (who could ride the longest while increasing the bike’s tension every 30 seconds)!!!

8. I got my hair cut and re-colored — feels soooo much better!!

Comments on: "Weekly PDRP" (10)

  1. Re South America: if you’re into hiking, I can highly recommend the Patagonia area of southern Chile … actually, anywhere in Chile is awesome. The Inca Trail region of Peru is also spectacular – Cusco/Lake Titicaca.

    Like

  2. PiT: We’ve decided to do a two week tour in Peru – which will include time in the Amazon Jungle, as well as a 4 day hike up the Inca Trail! I wish we had time to do Chile (and other areas) too.Any advice for us? We have traveled a bit, but only in Canada/US/Europe, so it’ll be very different for us.

    Like

  3. Wow, you’re on a roll!! I quit spinning class after one session. That is a TOUGH class. You sound very strong!

    Like

  4. Wow – I’m so jealous! I would love to go back to Peru but just don’t have the time right now. I didn’t book anything before I went apart from airfares and flew in Lima and then up to Cusco from there. Cusco has a ton of decent and cheap hotels, travel agents and restaurants all located around the main square. Most of the travel agents all handle the 4 day hike up the Inca Trail and they’re all pretty much the same – you’ll probably pay a little more if you book before you go but at least you will have the piece of mind of knowing that it’s already confirmed. Just remember that Cusco is at altitude so you’ll probably have a headache for the first couple of days and will have trouble with the stairs (the city is on the side of a hill). Try and stay in a hotel on or near the square as that’ll lessen the amount of time spent climbing up and down stairs!Re the hike up the Inca Trail: it’s NOT easy so don’t carry anything you don’t absolutely need. You can leave your extra clothes etc in a bag in storage at your hotel in Cusco so only take what need on the trail. The trekking company I went with supplied the tents, sleeping mats and food and I think I took one change of clothes, a sleeping bag, chocolate, Chacos, a Nalgene water bottle and my camera (DON’T forget your camera!) – I left my tent and everything else in a smaller backpack in the hotel’s storage facility for a small daily fee. If you’ve never been hiking before, make sure you invest in a good, comfortable backpack and shoes/boots and take a waterproof jacket as it WILL rain. Having all of these will make the hike so much more enjoyable. There were a couple of people in our group who hiked in flip flops with dollar store backpacks and they didn’t have a very good time.Peru is a great place and I’m sure you guys will have a great time. There are pickpockets and scam artists in Lima and Cusco so you do need to keep your wits about you but just avoid out of the way corners and keep your possessions out of easy reach and you won’t have a problem. Most of the locals you’ll come into contact with will speak English but if you can speak Spanish or at least pick up a couple of words before you go, things will also be a little easier. And I seem to recall only using US dollars as currency – you might want to doublecheck on that but that was the case in 2004 at least.I can’t really think of much more right now. If you have any questions, feel free to shoot me an email.

    Like

  5. Forgot to say that I was traveling on my own and didn’t have ANY problems at all so you’ll be fine.

    Like

  6. PiT – thanks so much for all of the advice! We’re going to book as part of a tour group. I know it sound lame, but we’re not experienced travelers, and we’re both hard-core planners, so it’ll suit us much better than to try and do things once we get there. I might send an email if we have anymore questions – thanks for the offer!

    Like

  7. Becca – LOL I don’t know what it is about biking, but I can just go forever. Get me to run though, and I’d die in about 5 minutes.

    Like

  8. You got a long weekend?! We didn’t get one in BC, no fair!

    Like

  9. LOL Cath – yeah, we get Family Day in February. I know it’s in Alberta too, but not sure where else 🙂You can just be happy that it’s not -20 there!

    Like

  10. Ok, I want to see a picture! 🙂Peru is amazing. I was there for 2 weeks with my mom. I hope you get to see the Nazca lines, but pretty much everything there is great. Museums, nature, you name it. Bring pencils, all little kids want pencils there, and I remember wishing I had brought loads.

    Like

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

