Calming Down

So, I read that paper that I posted about yesterday – and it doesn’t make my thesis look like total garbage. They didn’t do a search for the object, so that means my mondo 11,000 object survey, where I derived upper limits, is still fine.

However, they did take spectroscopic observations of the comet and, even though it showed a distinct tail, they didn’t see any emission lines. This is worrisome for my (already not great) 3rd project, since the whole basis of it was to try to find emission lines (i.e., if object with obvious cometary activity doesn’t show emission lines, then objects that don’t show any activity probably won’t either). Oh well. I pretty much knew that project was a bust by this point anyway – but I still have to do the work and put it in my thesis.

As for paper #2, for those keeping track my goal was to have it submitted by March 1st. Since that’s Sunday, and I just received comments back from my supervisor this week, that’s not going to happen.

All is not lost, however – I’ve been working on my 3rd project and my thesis in the meantime. So, that will bring down the work load for later on. Plus, I scheduled 2 months for the reduction of the data from the 3rd project, and I doubt it will take even half of that time.

So, I hope to submit paper #2 by the end of March, pending any major changes. I’m right on track to hand in my thesis in July.

Comments on: "Calming Down" (2)

  1. I’m glad things are sorting themselves out. These things are never good surprises, but it sounds like you’re making the best of it.I don’t think this would render your work garbage at all. You were doing the same thing at the same time, but in different ways it sounds like. Maybe your way doesn’t quite work but at least you can put it out there that it’s been tried.

    Like

  2. It’s always a serious moment of panic when you feel you’ve been scooped…but usually afterwards you do find out it’s not as bad as you thought. I’m glad that’s how it’s worked out for you :).

    Like

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

