The Big 3-0

Today is my last day of being a 20-something. When I think about it, I can’t believe that I’m turning 30. It seems like just yesterday I was turning 16 or 21. I certainly don’t remember turning 23, 25 or even 28. My 20s were apparently a very big blur.

I’m not sad to turn 30. In fact, just the opposite. This year will bring big changes in my (our) lives: I’ll finally finish my schooling with my PhD; we will move and get real jobs; we will start a family, buy a house, and do all sorts of grown up things. So, it is nice that turning 30 coincides with all of these life-altering events. It’s like a signal that this is the year where everything changes – and it’s almost like starting with a clean slate or, at the very least, a new chapter. Where we will officially become grown-ups.

Another reason why I’m excited to turn 30 is that it gives me an excuse not to act like a 20-something: if I don’t want to drink, I don’t have to because I’m 30 and no self-respecting 30-year old would get wasted on a Tuesday night; I don’t have to feel bad about staying home on a Friday night and read a book, because I’m 30; it’s okay for me to want babies, because I’m old enough. There are all sorts of things that I can get away with now, because my age automatically = maturity/responsibility.

I’m not doing anything huge to celebrate. I thought about it, but what I really want is to ring in this new era with DH. So, we are going out to dinner at a new restaurant in town. Other than that, I bought a bunch of books for myself, including childhood favorites like the Narnia series and The Wrinkle in Time set. I also bought some jewelery, and am getting a pedicure next weekend.

I also made myself some cupcakes:

Comments on: "The Big 3-0" (10)

  1. Happy birthday!

    Like

  2. Shoot, now I want cup cakes! Yours look yummy! Yay for the year of self-assured maturity! Happy birthday.

    Like

  3. Happy birthday for tomorrow πŸ™‚ I love cupcakes!

    Like

  4. mmmmm…. cupcakes! It’s your birthday and you can do whatever you want with it (so said a friend on my birthday last week πŸ™‚ )Hope the next year brings you all those nice things you’ve been hoping for!

    Like

  5. Thanks everyone! The cupcakes ARE good πŸ™‚ I just used a pre-made mix though, so I kind of cheated…but they’re still yummy!

    Like

  6. Ooh, I loved the Chronicles of Narnia series….

    Like

  7. chronicles of Narnia rock! happy bday!

    Like

  8. Happy birthday! Those cupcakes look delicious. I have been craving cupcakes for months, but obviously not enough to make my own, LOL. And congrats on the “grown up” age… I am looking forward to the status age brings, myself. πŸ™‚ I’m only 27… But, moving in the right direction, heh.

    Like

  9. Happy birthday for tomorrow!One of my favourite things about turning 30 was that I could say “mother, you do realise I’m 30, don’t you?” the next time she asked if I was eating properly πŸ˜‰Being 30 is much more fun than being “in your 30s”. Enjoy!

    Like

  10. Happy Belated Birthday MCH!!!!!!! Wooooooo!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

