Expensive Pussies!!

Okay – get your mind out of the gutter.

We love our cats – they are like children to us. I actually use them as a child-substitute for when I get really bad baby-fever attacks. And what’s not to love really? I mean, they’re cute as hell, funny to watch, and know to cuddle you when you’re sad.

Fig. 1 Isaac & Izzie in the bookcase.

Sure, they do stupid things like unrolling the whole roll of toilet paper, climb the curtains, or puke every two days, but who doesn’t?
Fig. 2 Izzie with a whole TP roll.

We love our cats so much that we’ll be taking them with us wherever we move (I can’t believe some people just leave their pets when they move! Gah!). So, I called the vet to inquire what the deal was if we happen to move to England (one of our potential options).

She told me about the tests that they would have to run, 6 months before we move, and would cost a minimum of $240 for each cat!! To get their blood tested!! That’s even worse than the $450 to get one of Isaac’s teeth pulled…which we haven’t done yet (hey, if he’s not complaining, why bother, right? Am I going to be a bad mommy?).

Damn…it’s a good thing they’re cute (see Fig. 1).

Comments on: "Expensive Pussies!!" (7)

  1. When I saw the title of this post on Google Reader, I thought it was going to be a little more risque 🙂

    Like

  2. Erm… have you looked into the possibility that they’d have to be quarantined upon arrival? The laws may have changed, but the UK used to require 6 months quarantine to keep rabies out.They are oh so cute though. Ours do the TP trick too, and woke me up at 5.30 this morning with their racket. Luckily they don’t throw up all that often, but when they do, they have a habit of doing it on a doormat, so you come in and don’t see it until it’s too late…

    Like

  3. PiT – that was my plan to make people come read my blog! LOLCath – the laws have changed actually. If you’re moving from certain countries (including Canada), you can give them documentation that proves they are rabies-free and microchipped – if those are fine, then they don’t have to be quarantined. You have to do it at least 6 months before moving there though, hence dealing with it now.

    Like

  4. Your cats are awesome, I think it’s definitely worth the price for their entertainment!Try calling around to other vets, I know pricing can vary from one to another.

    Like

  5. England? Wow!!!! 😀 Tell me more…

    Like

  6. Good! I always thought it was ridiculous to keep the quarantine laws after the vaccine became available. I’m glad there’s been at least a partial change to the law; I used to hear awful things about the conditions in the quarantine kennels.

    Like

  7. Theresa – not much to tell right now. One of DH’s potential companies is located in England. Cath – Yes, I’m glad they changed it too, because I think England would have been off the table if we had to put them in quarantine for 6 months!

    Like

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

