Bored

My motivation to work on project #3 has ground to a complete halt. I did really well last week, but perhaps I burnt myself out or something. I’ve been looking at my data today for a minute or two before checking my email, eating lunch, or reading blogs.

I think the problem is that the data sucks. I know the results aren’t going to be great, so it pains me to spend so much time working on it. Alas, it has to be done though, and I just need to force myself to get it done.

In other news, I’m heading into my third week of the exercise study. It’s been good to be exercising regularly again, although it’s been tough sometimes to get to the gym. I’m motivated by the fact that a PhD student is relying on me for data, but little else right now.

The first session of each week I have to listen to a 5-minute recording. The first week they talked about the general health benefits, whereas last week they focused solely on how exercise reduces stress. It will be interesting to see what the other subjects will be over the next six weeks.

The first two weeks I had to exercise a minimum of 30 minutes with my heart rate above 133 bpm. This week and next, that gets bumped up to 139 bpm, and will be 150 bpm for the remainder of the study. It’s tough to initially get my heart rate up to 133, but once I’m there I can maintain it fairly easily, and usually workout in the 140-150 bpm range. However, I’m worried about the last four weeks of the study – how am I going to maintain a heartrate of >150 bpm? I’m going to have to sprint the whole time or something!

Anyway, it’s been interesting to be a part of the study. I feel better physically, which is always a nice bonus. I look forward to seeing the results (both mine and of the study)!

Comments on: "Bored" (10)

  1. That’s great that you have incentive to exercise. I haven’t found anything yet that motivates me to exercise.I’m sorry your data is boring. 😦

    Like

  2. Mrs. Whatsit – I just started reading A Wrinkle in Time (which I had read as a child, but forgot pretty much all of it). Is that where you got your name?

    Like

  3. 155 bpm for 30 mins? sheez… I’m getting tired only to read that πŸ™‚then again, I am trying to burn fat more than to work cardio so I usually stick with 70% of max pulse for at least 45 mins…. good luck. And I am sorry to hear about the data!

    Like

  4. As time goes on, exercising at the higher heart rate will get easier. I typically stay in the 180-190 range if I’m running and easily can handle that for over an hour … before I got so detrained that is.

    Like

  5. I can maintain 150 for about 25 minutes, but just barely. PiT is clearly a freak πŸ˜‰

    Like

  6. <>PiT is clearly a freak <>In so many different ways πŸ™‚ In reality, I have a very high maximum HR (~204) and just tend to operate at a high HR with moderate intensity exercise … I grew up playing squash competitively so my body is used to it. I do have a really low resting HR though (~45bpm).

    Like

  7. So, I worked out today and tried to keep my heart rate around 150 and it wasn’t too bad! In fact, I pushed it into the 160s for the last 7 minutes just to see what it’d be like. So, 150 for 30 minutes won’t be too bad afterall πŸ™‚I find it easier to get my heart pumping on the stair master though, compared to the bike for example. I also do not like running (mostly because my shins and ankles start to really hurt), so that’s out. But, once I get my heart rate up, I can do any exercise to keep it up there.This is a very interesting study for me too!PiT – I still think you’re a freak, but not as bad LOL

    Like

  8. Yay for exercise! I miss my gym membership sometimes, but winter has always been the hardest in terms of getting myself motivated.I know exactly what you mean about lack of motivation for your project! It sounds like you’re on track for everything, though, so I’m sure it’ll come together. And good luck at your meeting tomorrow!

    Like

  9. <>I find it easier to get my heart pumping on the stair master though, compared to the bike for example. <>Weight bearing exercise uses more and bigger muscles so you will have a higher HR with stair climbing and on the treadmill than you will on the bike (I rarely get my HR above 170 on the stationary bike). Try not to push your HR beyond what is needed for the study though – it sounds like they’re trying to keep you in a moderate/cardio range – after the study you can go crazy.(Incidentally, the word verification is “cyclesm” – weird.)

    Like

  10. PiT – Funny you mention the weight-bearing thing, as that was the subject of today’s recording (and how that type of exercise helps with osteoporosis). Yes, I think I’ll go a little easier next time. I just wanted to see how hard it would be to have my heart rate above 150.Although, I did ask the PhD student running the study, and she said we could workout at whatever rate we wanted, as long as it was above the minimum. I’ve seen some other women run for 45 minutes straight!

    Like

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

