Reading this book brought back some great memories from my childhood! I didn’t remember much of the storyline, but I remembered all the characters. I never realized how much religion was in this book, and am surprised that it was taught at a public school – times have changed since then I suppose!

As for the book – it’s definitely meant for kids. There isn’t much character development and the plot is very halting and has many holes. The whole thing was wrapped up on the last page, almost as an after thought.

There were some parts that I found hard to follow (not because of the concepts or plot, but because of the writing). The author uses many old-fashioned words/sayings and almost a backwards way of writing that make it tough to read (i.e. “who could bear being left out of happiness not one second longer” instead of “who could not bear being left out…”). I found myself having to re-read sentences many times. Because of this, I think reading this book to a child would work much better than having them read it alone.

A fun read – but definitely more for the kids, or if you read this book as a child yourself. I have bought the whole series, but am not sure if I will read the others (perhaps when I can read them to our kids). 3 out of 5 stars.

Comments on: "A Wrinkle in Time by Madeleine L’Engle" (6)

  1. Well, at least you didn’t hate it. Need I say it’s one of my favorite books of all time? 🙂Many Waters is definitely a kids book, also, if memory serves. A Wind in the Door and A Swiftly Tilting Planet less so. I didn’t quite get them when I was a kid. I’m not sure if you would like them better or not.

    Like

  2. 🙂 I figured you might like that book!It’s not that I didn’t like it – it was actually quite a fun read. Just not for adults as much. I think I will read the others eventually (I remember reading A Wind in the Door in school as well, but don’t remember much about it).

    Like

  3. Anonymous said:

    Oh I love that book. Read it for the first time as an adult when my kids were reading it and it had a big impact on me. I love that they live in a big old house on a hill by the sea. Plan to get one of those some day. The second one in the series wasn’t so good though.

    Like

  4. I remember reading it as a little kid (like elementary school), and i didn’t get it. and i didn’t like it, it was kind of scary somehow. i think because it was sort of like real life, but there were these scary fantasy elements to it that i couldn’t process and the whole book made me uncomfortably uncomfortable. I haven’t read it since then, I wonder what I would think of it now.

    Like

  5. It’s one of the most influential books I read as a child. Ever since, I’ve been fascinated with Cosmology.

    I don’t remember the religious references. I’m currently atheist, but love to study religions.

    I should read it to my kids as an excuse to read it again myself:) I think I wiil.

    Like

  6. Please excuse my typo. “Wiil” should read “will.”

    I have made a mental note to proofread even the shortest of comments.

    Like

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

