Nothing to do…

…but write the thesis. I finished the analysis a couple of days ago. After what happened last week, I decided not to post about it until I was sure it was done correctly.

I spent yesterday looking at a different analysis technique. It was pretty straightforward, so I got that all done by about 1pm. After that, I was trying to figure out what else to do…and then it dawned on me: I’ve really got nothing to do but write the rest of my thesis. Gulp. It’s kind of daunting, knowing that the only thing I really have to do now is write up.

I kind of don’t believe it – I feel like I’m going to find out tomorrow or next week that something went wrong and I’ll have to do it all over again. I also (kind of) wish that I still had other things to do! The closer I get to the defense, the more I freak out. I know the thesis itself will be fine, and I know I’ll do well with the talk…but just thinking about the defense makes me want to puke.

Anyway, obviously I need to get over it. Today, I start writing.

Comments on: "Nothing to do…" (10)

  1. One nice thing is that every time you redo your analysis you get a little faster… that’s what I found! Just kidding.

    Congrats on reaching this milestone! I am sure it is a relief. Happy writing.

    Like

  2. When I think about my defense, I also want to puke. I have a feeling a lot of people feel that way about their defense beforehand.

    Congrats on having nothing left but the writing!

    Like

  3. Becca – LOL! That’s actually very true about data analysis 😛

    Mrs. W – I’m glad I’m not the only one (nor am I surprised). It’s a scary thing!

    Like

  4. WOOOOOOOOOO!!!! You go girl!!! Go on and git ‘er done!!!!

    Like

  5. Good luck! don’t think too much. (it is a bit daunting in the head… at least in mine it was…)

    and if nothing else, WOW for getting all the analyses done and good. That must feel so nice!

    Like

  6. Awesome! Good luck!

    The following things got me through my thesis writing:

    1) regular fresh air and exercise
    2) regular coffee / lunch breaks with friends, with thesis talk forbidden
    3) good quality chocolate.

    Like

  7. This comment has been removed by the author.

    Like

  8. That’s awesome!!!! It is a weird feeling to reach that point, but you’ll get into a writing groove and it’ll all go smoothly! My only advice is to make sure you know your supervisor’s travelling schedule, and be aware of exactly wtf he wants before he’ll even read anything…Alright, I won’t go any further b/c this will turn into a ridiculous rant!

    (Ooops! Ignore the above deleted post…)

    Like

  9. Hooray!!! That’s great 🙂

    Like

  10. LOL, yeah, definitely know your supervisor’s schedule for the next little while. He has a habit of forgetting to mention that he’ll be away when you’ll need him 😉

    Congrats on being done all of your analysis! Good luck with the writing 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

