First Draft

This morning, after writing my acknowledgments section, I have officially completed one full draft of my thesis! Woohoo!!

My supervisor is currently reading two chapters (the intro, and the one on project #3) – or at least has them in his hands. I’m hoping he’ll get those back to me next week, when I plan to give him all the short parts (abstract, co-authorship statement, and the conclusions chapter).

So, things to do while I’m waiting are: make sure all the symbols and abbreviations are in the list; adding (if necessary) small portions to the science chapters to link them together; making sure the figures/tables are readable and in the correct spot; and double checking citations, reference lists and general formating.

More good news is that we have three confirmed examiners: two from the department and one external to the university. The only one we have left is a university examiner. Four people have been invited, but we are still waiting for a response.

It’s all starting to come together! Yay and GAH at the same time!

In the meantime, I am also attending a teaching workshop. In the first session we talked about learning styles, teaching perspectives, and how to set objectives for a course (or even one class). Today we are meeting and each person is giving a 10 minute micro-teaching session. Then, we are given feedback – should be interesting!

Comments on: "First Draft" (5)

  1. Yay! You are doing great!

    Like

  2. What a milestone! Good for you!!!!

    Like

  3. Woot! Congrats

    Like

  4. that’s pretty awesomely amazing!!! I’m so happy for you!!!! My timeline for my own is set – had the annual review on thursday – and my committee is happy with the timeline. If I follow it, I will have my thesis written before Christmas. My first milestone is for the end of May. I’m soooo scared that I will not follow my timeline. SO much that my naightmare last night was that I had let my entire first day (today) pass without having had time to work on the thesis work. 🙂

    Like

  5. Debra Daily said:

    Completing the final draft of the paper would certainly look like that you that thesis writing would nearly end. And I think it was a thesis help desk that can motivate you knowing that it you were near the end of the task. Anyway, I do hope everything went well with your thesis writing.

    Like

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

