I had a look at my earnings statement for this month – because I get paid from multiple sources, I’ve learned to check it ahead of time in case something is messed up. So, I wasn’t surprised when I saw there was something missing: my pay from one of my outreach programs.

Now, I’ve had this issue before. Due to problems with the department and grad studies, the woman who takes care of my salary for that job has to put in my hours manually each month. Once in a while she misses it, and she either gets a cheque cut for me, or it just ends up on my next paycheque.

So, I figured it was the same deal, and just let her know what was going on. I was surprised by the response: all “new” positions have to now be approved by the provost. First of all, my position is not new – I’ve been doing it for 4 years (and there were others before me). Second, why is she just telling me this now? I have a feeling that this wouldn’t have even surfaced if I didn’t ask her about my pay!

This isn’t the first time that I’ve caught an issue like this – I’ve had problems with my department paying me less than they should pretty much every semester. Why is it that I have to make sure I get paid the right amount? You’d think with 100s of faculty/staff, they’d know how to pay people properly. I swear, they try to lowball people and just hope no one catches it 😛

So, now my paycheque for this month is super low and I don’t know if I’m actually going to get paid for this job anymore (and even if I am…when is it going to be approved?). Damn this university really sucks ass about things like this.

Comments on: "Why wasn’t I told that?" (2)

  1. Ugh, I hear ya! I had a similar experience collecting my employment insurance when I went on maternity leave. I had to get my record of employment from my university, then send it in to Service Canada, who would send me some numbers, which in turn I had to forward back to my employer. All of this paperwork and back-and-forthness when I was recovering from childbirth, and having to take care of an infant!! When I called my employer to get my ROE they told me it had been automatically mailed out. But then a month later I still hadn’t received anything, so, more phone calls and finally a helpful lady in another department was able to produce a signed copy of the documents I needed. I was really surprised at how clunky the whole procedure was. I figured a lot of this could happen automatically without requiring new moms to forward dcuments between organizations. But I guess it’s a personal privacy tradeoff or somethng. And I am done ranting now. LOL It wasn’t that horrible and I guess I should be grateful that the government sends me money for a whole year until I go back to work. 😀

    Like

  2. Yeah, this is a pretty common experience sadly – we have all these admin people, and yet managing anything slightly different or new just doesn’t happen. I tend to think it’s mass incompetance or misplaced priorities rather than actual malevolence, that makes going to work easier each day…

    Like

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

