For the past while I have been thinking of coming out of pseudonymity and blogging under my own name. Although I’m not sure if it matters all that much. I don’t think I have blogged about anything that could get me in trouble (have I?), so “coming out” wouldn’t be an issue.

I honestly can’t think of any great advantages or disadvantages either way. I have friends and family who read the blog, so obviously they already know who I am. The other people that read the blog probably wouldn’t know me personally if I came out – or if they did, I doubt it’d matter much.

I would still keep the names of DH, family, friends, and colleagues (i.e., anyone I mention on the blog) private. However, I guess if I come out, then they might be “outed” as well. Something to consider, I guess.

Does anyone have any experience with this, or have any advice or suggestions?

Comments on: "Thinking of "Coming Out"" (5)

  1. I stick to first names for me and my family and psudonyms for everyone else. I think people could find me if they really wanted to, but like you said, I don't think it would be too big of a deal if they did.

    Like

  2. I thought long and hard about the anonymity issue before I started blogging under my real name.

    My feeling was that astronomy is such a small field, that just a few details would be enough to uniquely identify me anyway. I also felt that by blogging under my real identity and as a member of the CSWA I might have a stronger voice.

    The downside to not being anonymous is that I feel much less free to post about whatever I want. I spend a lot of time thinking about how what I post on will affect me long term.

    The other thing to keep in mind is that coming out is irreversible.

    In the end, the decision is entirely up to you, of course. I'll continue to follow your blog either way. 🙂

    Like

  3. Massimo had a great post about this a while ago. There are advantages and disadvantages to both ways, personally I prefer to use my real name

    Like

  4. Thanks for the comments so far. Cath, thanks for the link to Massimo's post.

    I guess one big reason why I want to “come out” (why is it every time I go to type “come” it ends up as “comet”? :P) is because after I finish my PhD and we move, this blog will probably become more about those experiences. It will be more of a way to keep friends and family in the loop as well (using pictures and such).

    I also think, because the astronomy community is so small in Canada (especially in my research area) it is SO easy to figure out who I am. I've never really tried to hide my identity (i.e., there are many “hints” in my posts) – I just don't use specific names or locations.

    Hannah – it's funny you say that being anonymous means you can't post as freely. At first I thought the opposite – that being anonymous meant I could rant/rave about anything and everything. But that's not the case at all – I find myself worrying more-so about “revealing” myself.

    Like

  5. MCH, you make a great point – when I first started blogging anonymously I thought I could say whatever I wanted – but now I find that when I want to really say something, I muffle myself for fear of being discovered, and instead I write bland useless posts about the books I read last month.

    However, I still think I would like to remain anonymous and just be more creative about how I blog to remain that way.

    Like

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

