Even with the defense looming, I have made time to keep reading. Here is a review of the latest book I read.

Compared to the other Picoult books I have read, Harvesting the Heart wasn’t nearly as good. I felt myself waiting for it to get started, and then realized I was more than halfway through. It never really got going at the pace of some of her other books (which I had a hard time putting down).

I liked the idea of telling a story from a mother’s perspective, especially a mother who felt that she was not doing as well as she should be. I think a lot of new mothers feel that way.

Otherwise, I didn’t feel the plot was particularly feasible. Paige was made out to be a strong character, but then completely gave her life over to Nicolas – who himself was a complete jerk throughout the whole book that I just couldn’t fathom Paige being in love with him.

Overall, it lacked the excitement I’m used to from Picoult, the plot had too many holes, and in general just wasn’t believable. 2 of out 5 stars.

Comments on: "Harvesting the Heart: A Novel, by Jodi Picoult" (3)

  1. I've recently made the resolution to read more. It's one of my favorite things to do, but seems to be the one that falls by the wayside when I get busy.

    In any case, I've only read “My Sister's Keeper” of Jodi Picoult's, which I enjoyed, and I keep looking at her other books and thinking that they'll all just be the same formula. That said, you seem to have read more of them – what else of hers would you recommend?

    Like

  2. I hear ya, Mrs. Chemist – it's tough to fit it in when you're super busy. Luckily, I generally don't let myself work in the evenings or weekends, so I can get some reading done.

    Here are the other Jodi Picoult books I've read and ratings:

    The Pack: 4.5/5
    My Sister's Keeper: 4/5
    Change of Heart: 4/5
    Vanishing Acts: 3.5/5
    Perfect Match: 3/5

    My favorite books that I've read over the last two years are:

    The Time Traveler's Wife
    The Book of Negroes
    The Glass Castle
    and
    Water for Elephants

    Hope that helps you out!

    Like

  3. That's very helpful thanks! I've just finished my last book, so it's perfect timing 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

