One week to go

I feel like I’ve been doing count-downs for a while now! When one thing is done, another is coming up.

Well, now that my defense is over, I can finally start getting excited about our trip to South America! I absolutely cannot believe that we’re leaving a week from today!

We have all the gear, got our immunizations & pills for various things, we have booked all the excursions we want to do out of Rio (we’re going to a soccer match the first day we get there!), and everything seems to be set!

I have to give a talk while we’re in Rio. I made up the slides yesterday (okay, more like I took slides from my PhD talk and edited them a bit). I need to practice a couple times to make sure it fits in the time constraints. Other than that, I’m not really too worried about it. I’m also presenting a poster on my astronomy outreach stuff.

One last thing on our list to prepare is to head to a used book store and get a couple of small & cheap paper backs to bring with us. Any recommendations?

Comments on: "One week to go" (7)

  1. I think this is one of the few times I'm actually stumped for recommendations. It turns out, most of my favourite books are anything but small! I came up with these two: Life of Pi by Yann Martel and The White Tiger by Aravind Adiga. They're not exactly beach books but they are really good!

    I bet you'll get weather in South America than we've been getting here, so bring some back with you 🙂

    Like

  2. Congratulations!

    If you're looking for beach books, and not something of high literary quality, I usually go for the murder mystery type:

    James Patterson's Women's Murder Club series is decent (1st to die, etc). Strong women working together to solve crime.

    Others that are just plain entertaining and amusing, but NOT high quality are Janet Evanovich's Stephanie Plum series (1 for the money, etc.).

    These a are quick reads and you can find them pretty easily in paperback.

    I'd also recommend The Secret Lives of Bees if you want something with a little more substance.

    Have a great trip!

    Like

  3. Right, so that was congratulations on a successful defence, by the way 🙂

    Like

  4. Thanks for the suggestions ladies!

    Andrea – I have read Life of Pi (loved it) and White Tiger was actually one of the books that DH bought me after my defense! LOL! I actually do a have a STACK of books to read that are new, but I didn't want to take any of those with me (they are too nice and too big).

    We went to the used bookstore and bought paperback sized books. I got Little Women (I've never read it!), The Graduate (hot!) and a science fiction one called Destiny's Road. DH got Jaws (hehe!), Jurassic Park, and Congo.

    Sorry Mrs. Chemist – I got the books before I saw your list! I'll keep those in mind next time for sure!

    Like

  5. It sounds like you've got a good haul! I second the rec for Secret Life of Bees when you get back, it'll break your heart a little bit but it's worth it.

    Like

  6. Trips always seem to sneak up on me – from “oh, that's ages away” to “holy shit, I need to pack!” in 4 hours or less. I hope you have tons of well-earned fun!

    (And it's football, not soccer ;))

    Like

  7. Cath – totally hear you on that! It seems to happen to me too.

    And I know it's football, but if I said that here, people would think of the wrong sport 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

