Residual Work

Like many recently crowned PhDs, I seem to have a lot of residual work to do before everything from my thesis is really tied up in a nice package.

The first thing I need to do is give a talk at the conference next week on some new(ish) results. At least this was fairly easy to put together – most of the slides were just taken out of my defense public lecture. It will be my first time presenting as a “Dr.”, so it will be interesting to see if I am received differently.

When we return from our trip I will continue to work on the corrections for paper #2. I talked with my supervisor about what we should change and what we should argue about, and it seems like it will be a reasonable amount of work. I would like to get that paper resubmitted by the beginning of September.

I will be giving a departmental colloquium on September 3rd – not on my research stuff, but on the Impostor Syndrome workshop I put together for my teaching course! I am really excited about it, and I hope that it is well attended (and well received). I need to put some slides and handouts together for that.

In mid-September I will be heading back to MSc city to work with my MSc supervisor on finally getting paper #2 from that degree submitted. I will also be giving a talk there (which will basically be my PhD talk). I’m so looking forward to going, since I get to see some very awesome friends too!

In between all of this, we have our trip, DH is scheduled for an interview at the beginning of September (and I hope to go with him so I can check out potential Next City), I will officially start as a post-doc while we wait to see where we will end up, and I will start seriously researching career options and putting together a teaching portfolio.

This is the time DH and I have been waiting for – it will be interesting to see how things are going in a couple of months!

Comments on: "Residual Work" (1)

  1. It sounds like very exciting time for you! Enjoy it 🙂

    I just finished reading a (really bad) book that had a great quote at the beginning, it reminded me of your project:

    “…I went to my adviser and told her of the fears that were choking me. 'You feel like an imposter?' she asked. 'Don't worry about it. All smart women feel that way.'” – Peggy Orenstein

    Like

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

