Silly, but still annoying

I’m giving a talk at my MSc university when I go to visit next month. They have put my abstract up online, but don’t have “Dr.” in front of my name. I realize it’s silly, and not really a big deal, but it sort of bugs me because all the other speakers listed have “Dr.”

I’m kind of tempted to send an email and ask them to change it, but that seems kind of petty. On the other hand…I’m a Dr. damnit! I worked hard for that, and I want people to know – especially in a professional setting.

As for those of you who have requested links to the photo albums – I’ll respond when I get home (for some reason I can’t send emails from that account on this computer, but can receive them).

UPDATE: A friend of mine at MSc U. let them know about the mistake and it has been changed. Thanks T!

Comments on: "Silly, but still annoying" (4)

  1. It is not being silly. I've had RA's who do not use Dr. on a regular basis, that request that their proper designations are used in presentations etc. You would have no hesitation in sending them an email if they had spelled your name wrong.

    Like

  2. It's annoying but I wouldn't stress about it. Make sure you put PhD after your name on the title slide and make a point of saying that you're pleased to being doing this presentation after the stress of defending your PhD …

    Like

  3. Thanks SM and PiT!

    I don't think I'll send them an email. I'm not sure if it's worth the trouble. BUT, I will make a note of saying that I'm presenting my PhD thesis projects – which I successfully defended in July 🙂

    Like

  4. I saw it and got annoyed too!!! I'm glad it's been changed!

    Like

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

