Yay! Something Happened!

I got word today that I will be getting some funding for the Women in Astronomy and Space Sciences conference! Hooray! Even better, I get to room with a fellow blogger – how fun!

Now I must decide whether to stay for the last day of the conference, or come home early so I can attend my convocation. Hmm…

In any case, maybe this will get the ball rolling, and other things will start happening soon.

PS: What’s up with the lack of comments lately, my lovely readers? I hope that my new layout and real name aren’t deterring you from chiming in.

Comments on: "Yay! Something Happened!" (14)

  1. My apologies, I have been reading, but haven't had time to formulate coherent comments.

    Congrats on getting some $$$, THAT always brings a smile to my face (and, man oh man, how I could use a couple of dollars these days…)

    Like

  2. Nice work on the funding! Are you allowed to say which blogger?

    I've been commenting on your other blog πŸ˜‰

    Like

  3. Hooray! I've just had very little downtime… see my most recent post. Grr, crazy kids.

    Like

  4. Aw – people still do read my blog!

    x-ine – money makes me happy too, especially when I get to do something cool with it!

    Cath – I won't say which blogger unless they tell me it's okay. Thanks for commenting on my other blog, and for listing me as post of the week!

    Becca – I just read your post today. I'm SO sorry you had such a rough day yesterday!

    Like

  5. Been busy. Working. Eating. Sleeping. And not blogging at work. Still around though and still reading your blog πŸ™‚

    Like

  6. you went to the MortalBlogEnemeeez dude. there's contract language…

    Like

  7. Yay, congrats on the funding! Money is always good πŸ™‚

    I also wanted to mention that I saw When I Heard the Learn`d Astronomer at the campus bookstore a couple of years ago and instantly fell in love with it. It was on their sale shelf so it came home with me. I think it applies to more than just astronomy, though – whatever subject you`re learning, you can`t just learn the theory and copy down formulas and memorize the text book. You have to DO it. I think that little book is such a beautiful way of getting that message across.

    Sorry for commenting here about the other blog, I haven`t registered for the Nature Network…at least not yet.

    Like

  8. PiT: I'm glad people are still reading! I was wondering if me starting a blog on the Nature Network was bugging people.

    DM: That's the way it goes, I guess.

    Andrea: No worries about commenting here about my other blog! Feel free to do so anytime. I will have to buy that book soon (I'm waiting until next month, where I'll put in a big book order now that I can finally afford it!)

    Like

  9. Congrats on the travel grant!! Sounds like the beginning of good things happening?

    I've been following you for a little while now, starting when you were still Mrs. CH. I've just been too busy to comment much anywhere. Belated congrats on becoming Dr. Comet-Hunter, Alyssa!

    (Oh, and I read plenty of Nature Network blogs–including your new one–but don't comment on any. Too much activation energy to overcome to register. Did I mention that I'm lazy?)

    Like

  10. I was wondering if me starting a blog on the Nature Network was bugging people.

    Not from where I'm standing πŸ™‚

    Like

  11. Bean-mom – thanks for coming out and commenting! I hear ya about not wanting to sign up for the NN just to make comments. I do that a lot too.

    PiT – good to hear! πŸ˜€

    Like

  12. I've been reading, just no time to comment due to the crazy few months I have coming up….
    Yeah on the travel grant!!!

    Like

  13. DrugMonkey, it was my understanding that the recent mixed-platform marriage had brought with it a glooming peace between the mortal enemies…

    Like

  14. SM – glad you're still around! Good luck with the next few months!

    Cath – LOL! Good point!

    Like

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

