Paper Anniversary

Today DH and I celebrate our first wedding anniversary! Here are a few memories from the day (that don’t have too many faces in them)…

The wedding was outdoors, on a golf course near Calgary. It was an absolutely perfect day – not a cloud in the sky!


We had a very small guest list – only about 45 people. We really wanted to make it an intimate celebration, where everyone knows each other by the end of the night.


I really wanted to have color on my dress, but didn’t want to go nuts. So, I thought this was a nice compromise.




Isn’t that cupcake tower amazing? My mom and aunt made all the cupcakes, and my brother designed and built the tower (which he ended up selling to the golf course!).


The staff at the golf course were absolutely amazing, and had a ton of fun (especially giving out drinks – it was an open bar). At the end of the night, they told us it was the best wedding they’ve ever had there!

It was an amazing day – beyond all of our expectations and there were so many things that were fun surprises! My two favorite parts were DH saying my name wrong once during the vows (we have a great picture of me laughing and him red in the face), and when DH surprised me with a beautiful sapphire necklace that matches my engagement ring (pictured below), even though we said no gifts!


For our honeymoon, we went on a 7-day Alaskan cruise and then spent 3 days in San Francisco. It was a great way to spend some much needed, relaxing, time together.

Happy anniversary to my wonderful DH!

Comments on: "Paper Anniversary" (4)

  1. Congrats on your anniversary! May you have many, many more!

    Your wedding looks like it was very beautiful. I love your dress!

    Like

  2. A very, very happy anniversary!

    Like

  3. Gorgeous! Your dress is stunning.

    I love the idea of incorporating colour in the wedding dress. My best friend, who just got married in May, had the same idea, she had a lovely spring green ribbon that was laced down her back and tied into a ribbon.

    Congrats to you and DH, have a wonderful anniversary! 🙂

    Like

  4. Happy anniversary!

    The dress and the cake tower both look stunning.

    Like

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

