Blogoversary

Sunday was my one-year blogoversary. I did have another one over on MSN for two years that was barely read, even by me, so I consider this my first real blog.

When I started this blog I didn’t really know what I was going to write about. It was going to be more about my personal life, I suppose, as you can see from my first post. I was lucky, in a way, to attend a conference shortly after the debute, which really brought some issues in academia to a head for me. I also learned about the Women in Planetary Science blog, which linked me to a number of other science blogs. These two things influenced my second post (where I even received comments!) and why I continued to write about topics such as career paths, the impostor syndrome, thesis writing, astronomy in general, etc..

Now that I have finished my thesis, and I have a science-y blog over at the Nature Network, what I write about has evolved. It is back to things of a more personal nature, but still focuses on my work-life.

I have enjoyed being a part of the blog community, especially when welcomed by a few of my favorite bloggers. It’s also nice to know that some of my friends and family from real life keep up with my posts, and even comment from time to time.

Many things in the past year have changed – I’ve gotten married, defended my PhD, DH has a permanent position, and we’re starting a new chapter of our life. Here’s hoping the next year is just as eventful and exciting, especially for my readers (’cause I don’t want you to get bored!).

Comments on: "Blogoversary" (2)

  1. Happy blogoversary! Keep up the good work!

    Like

  2. Happy blogoversary! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

