Tragic Loss

I usually don’t blog about things like this, but I feel like I need too (not so happy things mentioned, so read with caution).

Yesterday, after being pregnant for 8 weeks and 3 days, I suffered a miscarriage. Things started to go wrong on Sunday afternoon, and we ended up going to a walk-in clinic. They couldn’t do anything much for us, but said that what was occurring (small amount of bleeding) was normal and I shouldn’t worry unless it got worse (heavier or with cramps).

At about 8pm the blood went from pink to red, so we went to urgent care. They took a blood sample and found that my Beta (hCG) levels were low, but still in the normal range. They made an appointment for me on Monday afternoon to get more tests and an ultrasound done. The bleeding seemed to slow, then speed up again, but nothing really bad and I wasn’t having any cramping. We were scared, but hopeful that things would be okay.

As we were driving to the appointment on Monday I started to get cramping in my lower belly. By the time we got to the check in desk, I felt a huge gush of blood and ran to the washroom. I basically sat there for a few minutes, not really able to do anything but freak out and cry. By the time I went back to the desk, they had a room open for us. They asked me some questions about the pregnancy, and then took us to the ultrasound room.

They took a look around for a few minutes (which was super uncomfortable). The doctor showed us my uterus and that there was nothing inside. It was just thick with blood. DH and I were (and still are) both devastated. Even though it was early in the pregnancy, we both felt very connected to our baby, and miss them a great deal.

Eventually, we will start trying again, but for now we just want to grieve and lean on each other. I’m so grateful that DH has been with me throughout this whole process. I could not have done anything if he wasn’t there guiding me every step of the way.

We are so appreciative of our family and friends that have supported us through this ordeal. We’d be happy for any positive thoughts you can send our way in this very trying time.

Your parents miss you, Baby G.

Comments on: "Tragic Loss" (33)

  1. I cannot fathom what you and DH are experiencing. *hugs*

    Like

  2. I am so sorry to hear about your loss, Alyssa. I can't even begin to imagine what you are going through. *hugs*

    Like

  3. I'm very sorry. Hang in there.

    Like

  4. Oh Alyssa, I'm so sorry to hear this. It's so hard, so hard to go through for both you and your husband. I hope all the best for you.

    Like

  5. *sniff* so sorry to hear about your loss Alyssa.

    Like

  6. I'm so sorry Alyssa, I can't even imagine what that must be like. You'll certainly be in my thoughts today.

    Like

  7. My apologies, you are in my thoughts.

    Like

  8. I'm so sorry for your loss. (((hugs)))

    Like

  9. Alyssa, I'm so very sorry to hear about your loss. Hang in there.

    Like

  10. So sorry to read this!

    Like

  11. My first pregnancy was a “missed miscarriage”, we found out at the first ultrasound (10 weeks) that the baby had no heart beat. It was the worst experience of my life and I understand your pain. I wouldn't wish it on anyone! Hang in there, our thoughts are with you.

    Like

  12. Baby G sure has some wonderful parents. Take your time with this, know that you have the love and support of many, and eventually things will work out.

    Like

  13. Oh Alyssa, I'm so, so sorry. You and DH will be in my thoughts.

    Like

  14. There is no worse pain. I've had one too and still thank about what might have been. I am so sorry. Heart is breaking for you.

    Like

  15. I am so, so sorry for your loss. You are in my thoughts.

    Like

  16. I am so sorry Alyssa. You are all in my thoughts. again, so sorry.

    Like

  17. Alyssa – I know I have said this before, but you and your DH are in my thoughts and prayers. Baby G had two great parents…You two will be parents really soon! We are all here for you! Take all the time you need to grieve and lean on all your family and friends. that is what they are there for! ((((HUGS))))

    Like

  18. Ayssa, I am so so sorry for you loss. I will be thinking of you and your husband.

    Like

  19. I”m sorry Alyssa. I'm thinking of you.

    Like

  20. so sorry…

    Like

  21. I am sorry for your loss. Farewell, Baby G.

    Rainee

    Like

  22. Thank you all for your thoughtful comments. We really appreciate the support right now.

    Like

  23. There's really no words here that work, but know that we are thinking about you and DH. It is definitely not easy to go through this (and as said in the comments, there are a number of us who have been in a similar state).

    Hang in there!

    Like

  24. Oh no! I am so, so sorry to hear this! All the best to you and DH.

    -x

    Like

  25. Alyssa, I am so sorry. You and your DH are have been my thoughts these past couple of days. Hope you are doing ok….

    Like

  26. I'm deeply sorry for your loss. I can't imagine how terrible it must feel. My thoughts are with you and your husband.

    ((HUGS))

    Like

  27. Gosh, I am so sorry to hear. I had a miscarriage at 11 weeks not even 2 months ago. I suppose there is nothing that can make it easier, so I just hope you can use the holidays to take some time off for yourself.

    Like

  28. Oh, gosh. Mrs Crox and I went through this a couple of times. Many sympathies and hugs.

    Like

  29. We had a scare with a bit of spotting/bleeding early on in our first… necessitating a visit to ER, but fortunately for us (and Junior Ricardipus #1) not anything serious.

    Sympathies, best wishes, from over here in Toronto (you know me from NN).

    Like

  30. Also via NN. Sorry to hear the sad news. As the comments above show, and friends and relatives of mine have experienced, it is much more common that people often think. But that doesn't make it easier to bear, of course. Sympathies and best wishes.

    Like

  31. So sorry, Alyssa. Thinking of you and your husband at this difficult time.

    Like

  32. Alyssa, I'm a bit behind and just saw this, and wanted to offer my sympathies. *HUGS* I know it won't do much, but I hope things are getting better.

    Like

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

