2009 in Review

DH and I got back from our Christmas vacation last night. It was nice to visit with family and friends, and it gave us some much needed time away from home. But, it’s definitely great to be back!

2009 has been one exciting year for us! There has been a number of big changes, with still more to come. Here is a review of the past year:

The Big 3-0: I turned 30 in March, and instead of being a scary or sad time, it was actually quite liberating!

Career direction: I (finally) decided what I want to do when I grow up. Education and outreach is my passion! Now I just need to find a job…

The PhD thesis: I spent much time worrying about my thesis defense (hence why it was the second most popular subject I blogged about in 2009), but got it done on July 20th!

Dream vacation: two weeks after finishing my PhD, DH and I went on a dream vacation to Brazil and Peru in August.

Comin’ out: after a year of blogging pseudonymously, I “came out” and now blog under my real name.

Published author: two papers from my PhD thesis were accepted and published in 2009.

Paper anniversary: DH and I celebrated our first year of marriage on September 13th.

Settling down: after much anguish and waiting, DH took a permanent position right here in London at the end of September. He got his first ever car too!

Comet: to commemorate my PhD, I got another tattoo in October.

Try, try again: DH and I started “trying” in the fall, and found out we were pregnant in mid-November. Unfortunately, we lost the pregnancy about 8.5 weeks in. Not a great way to end the year, but we hope 2010 will bring us more luck in this department.

Well, I think those were the major happenings in our lives over the past 12 months! It has been an amazingly crazy year, with many ups and downs, but we made it through and are excited to see what 2010 holds for us: a house? a job that I love? perhaps a baby? what else?

Happy 2010!!!
Comments on: "2009 in Review" (5)

  1. You have accomplished a LOT this year! Congratulations on finishing the PhD and finding your passion! Happy New Year!

    Like

  2. Alyssa, I just recently found your blog and I'm really enjoying it. 2009 sounded like a very full year for you. I'm a Canadian grad student planning to move into education/outreach after finishing also, and I'm interested to follow long to see what the next year brings for your career

    Like

  3. You had a great 2009, and I'm so excited to see what 2010 brings you! Happy New Year!

    Like

  4. What a 2009 you had Alyssa! I hope your 2010 is just as great!

    Like

  5. I'm sorry such a great year had to end so badly, but everything else on the list is awesome! Best wishes for 2010!

    Like

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

