It’s in My Hands

Well, the big meeting today went relatively well. Really well, actually. There was a lot of good discussion, and in the end it was decided to go for it. Better yet? That I should go for it. That, if I raise the money, this program will be mine (all mine!! Mwahahaha!!).

Ahem.

Of course, that puts the whole thing on my shoulders, but I’m willing to put in the effort to try and get this program off the ground. Education and outreach are my passions, so to be able to do that for a living is something that I at least want to take a shot at.

The first thing to do is to start finding sources of funding, and start applying like mad. Another idea I have is to get a private donor to buy the name of the observatory. Any takers?

Comments on: "It’s in My Hands" (15)

  1. Congrats!!!!! I'm super excited for you, you're going to do a great job with this!

    As for private donors, I'm out, but you could try looking at the lists of names posted around campus, and the building/school names, for ideas. Also, does it have to be a private donor? Perhaps a company, local or otherwise, would be interested in sponsoring it? Send me a message if you want some of my ideas, or if I should ask some of my fundraising friends for further suggestions 🙂

    Like

  2. Wow, that's fantastic, Alyssa! Way to go! You are such an inspiration — I wish I had the passion and dedication to my field (and to my prelim exams) that you have. You have a lot to be proud of 🙂

    Like

  3. Wow!! That is so awesome!!!

    Like

  4. Holyfuckingshit! How fucking awesome is that?

    Rich Alumni. Always a good bet. Does your school/institute have an office of sponsored giving/alumni relations?

    Like

  5. Thanks everyone! I'm pretty excited!

    Lyss – I'm going to see what the university fundraising department can do for us first. I'll let you know if I need any help though.

    Ella – the passion comes after the exams 😉 Oh, and plus this wasn't anything I studied! LOL

    Tideliar – we absolutely have one of those and I intend to get in touch with them next week!

    Like

  6. Yay, congratulations! Sounds like a fantastic opportunity

    Like

  7. wow! that's awesome.

    Good luck with finding donors and money givers. In exchange for a little plaue inside the observatory, or on the wall outside, there is no limit of how much people want to give 🙂

    Although, I need to give a bit of caution prior to approaching the companies. Check with the uni if that would be ok for them before you look into the companies. Some unis are fuzzy with external money coming in like that…. just saying…

    good luck and what a great way to start a weekend!!

    Like

  8. Chall – thanks! As for the companies thing, that is why I'm going to deal with the university fundraising department. They should know what we can and cannot do.

    Like

  9. How exciting! Great work! You're going to do great!!!

    Like

  10. Congrats! I've been following your blog for a bit now and you seem to have put up a fight for what you want and you have won (well your on the way, just need that funding).
    Funding wise – just what others have said – alumini (sp?), plaques (if it were a new build – you could have gone for the buy a brick option, get your name on it – it works really well), are there any grants or things like that, that would be worth looking into?
    Have a brill weekend!

    Like

  11. Becca – thanks! I hope so too!

    CS – welcome to the blog! There are some grants that I'm going to look into. Some deadlines have passed, but I can always apply in the next round. Buy-a-brick option sounds great – I'll keep that in mind if we end up (way down the road) building something new.

    Like

  12. Awesome!! Way to go, Alyssa!!!

    I'm sure your university fund-raising department will give you loads of good ideas and guidance when you meet with them (that's what they're for, after all)

    Like

  13. Congrats!!! Thats awesome. If I had money, I would totally give you some money. Sounds like you have an awesome game plan though.

    Good Luck!

    Like

  14. Oh, yay! That's a fantastic outcome! I'm afraid I have no specific suggestions for potential donors, but I can keep an eye out for anything on the grant competition boards and RSS feeds I frequent!

    Like

  15. Congratulations on a meeting gone well!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

