Last Week of Freedom

It’s just one more week until I start my new post-doc, and I’m a bit nervous about the new position.

I’m not really familiar with the research area, so it will be a steep learning curve. I hope that I am smart and capable enough to hold my own, and don’t end up looking like a complete idiot. I also worry that I might end up hating this too, just like my PhD research.

I’m also nervous about working for a new PI and with new grad students & post-docs. My PhD experience in that regard was not a particularly good one, so I am hoping it will be better in this case.

Another thing I’m worried about is keeping up my exercise routine. I’ve been working out four times a week, and I really love it now. I would be very disappointed in myself if I let it slip. It will be harder to schedule it in, obviously, since I will only be able to do so in the evenings. But, I really need to do this for myself, because I feel so much better lately.

The good thing is I’ll only be working four days a week. So that means I can hit the gym, catch up on my reading or knitting, or work on outreach stuff on my day off.

But, for now I should stop thinking about all of this and try to enjoy my last week off!

Comments on: "Last Week of Freedom" (4)

  1. Hey Alyssa!

    I'm sure you will do just fine in your new position. When I started mine, I felt like The Prisoner because everyone was speaking a language I didn't understand. But after being there for a while, I'm starting to feel more comfortable. Enjoy your week off!

    Like

  2. You will do great! Enjoy your last week off!

    Like

  3. You will do awesome!!

    Like

  4. First weeks are always tough, but it's like that for everyone and I'm sure people will appreciate that you're a newby in the lab and in the field!

    Enjoy your last week of freedom!

    Like

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

