A Couple Days to Go

So, only a couple more days until I start my new post-doc! I met with my new supervisor this morning to sign the necessary papers and such. She talked a little more about what I’ll be working on (a more extensive project, now that I’ll be working four days a week), and it sounds really cool. Although, I’ll be honest, I don’t know much about what she was talking about! LOL I guess that will be one of my first tasks: reading, reading and more reading. She also introduced me to a couple people I’ll be talking to on Monday, and showed me where my office will be. I really like her so far, and think we’ll get along pretty well.

She will be away for most of the week next week, but she gave me a small project to work on. She has a small outreach budget from one of her grants, and she wants me to do a bit of research on what we can do with that money. I’m thinking we can get some sort of hands-on earthquake science kit that grad students can take into classes (or do as a workshop at the university). There is also a day-long event for high school students coming up in May, and she wants me to come up with ideas for a 1-2 hour workshop we could do.

I will also be working on some data analysis from my PhD/1st post-doc work, since we want to get a paper out on that work soon(ish). I’m giving a talk to my new research group too, which should be interesting.

As much as I love (and I mean L-O-V-E) having this time off, I’m excited to start something new and, honestly, to get out of the house!

Comments on: "A Couple Days to Go" (5)

  1. Good luck, Alyssa! Your line of work sounds SO interesting, and I love reading your posts about your work, you sound so passionate!

    Like

  2. Ella – you should go back and read my posts before I submitted/defended my PhD…very, very different tone! LOL

    Like

  3. I didn't realise you had an outreach component in your current job (I'm sure you wrote about this and I just forgot. Sorry). That's really cool.

    Like

  4. Cath – it doesn't officially, but when my PI found out that I'm into that stuff, she figured she could use my help 🙂

    Like

  5. How was the first day? I assume it was today :).

    Like

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

