Exercise Update

Since the new year, I’ve managed to keep up a workout routine that includes “being active” four times per week. I’m actually quite impressed with myself for keeping it up this long.

There are 4-5 activities that I cycle through: Wii Fit, swimming, spinning class, and solo cardio exercise (either on the elliptical or stair-master). I really enjoy swimming and spinning the most, while Wii Fit is fun (but not as hard of a workout). I don’t mind using the cardio equipment, as long as I am listening to some really great music.

Even though it’s been a month, I haven’t really seen any results yet. I am definitely feeling better though, so that matters a lot to me. However, it would sure be nice if I could see a difference. DH claims that I look thinner, but I think he’s just saying that to make me feel better. In any case, the fact that I’m not really losing any weight means my diet needs some work. Don’t worry – I’m not going on a diet (yuck!!)! I just need to watch what I’m eating a bit more closely.

I hope that I can continue to keep up this regime (if you can even call it that). I figure, since I’m only working four days a week, I really don’t have any excuses. Especially since I feel so much better about myself since starting.

Any tips for healthier eating? I think we eat pretty healthy, but I know I tend to snack a lot on the weekends (and maybe I was doing that while at home, so now that I’m at work that will be reduced?).

Comments on: "Exercise Update" (12)

  1. woho! yey for regular exercise πŸ™‚

    question, have you measured yourself? Sometimes it is hard to notice things like 2 cm off waist and 1 cm off thighs… but slowly they “melt” off and you get firmer and leaner.

    I want to keep going at 4 times a week too… now that i have finally gotten my groove back into the gym. today leg hurt a lot since yesterday! πŸ˜‰

    Like

  2. I don't lose weight from exercise either. I believe though it converts fat to muscles (or so I tell myself). So it might in fact be you look thinner. Maybe get one of these things that measure body fat to have a better idea of your success?

    Like

  3. Anonymous said:

    Don't worry about the weight. Just go by how you feel – how much endurance you have and how the workouts seem easier with time. When I am working out I actually gain about 5 pounds from where I am when not working out but I feel SO much better. I do notice a smaller waist and knowing that I can run further or climb stairs without being out of breath makes me feel better about myself, especially compared to times when I'm spending all day at a desk.

    Like

  4. Fat doesn't convert to muscle – exercise merely increases the amount of fat you burn and your muscle mass increases as a result of adaptation to exercise-induced injury to the muscle cells.

    You're doing a great job, Alyssa! As Chall said, the changes your body is undergoing are likely to be quite small and the fit of your clothes will be a better measure than the scales. You're not overweight so you shouldn't expect massive decreases in weight and, as you're doing all cardio, you won't see a big difference in body shape. HOWEVER … the benefit to your cardiovascular health will be tremendous and is something that you can't measure non-invasively. Just keep doing what you're doing. If you want to see more body shape changes, add some weight or circuit training 2-3 times per week.

    As for healthier eating, if your diet is somewhat balanced, choosing the low/non-fat options of everything is an easy place to start. And don't buy fat-laden snacks – choose healthier options to reduce the impact of temptations πŸ™‚

    Like

  5. Snacking is very often a “hidden” source of calories – you don't really think about it as much because it's not a meal. What kind of snacks do you eat?

    Another thing to think about is portion size, even if it is healthy food you are eating. If you are eating more (you may notice that you are more hungry since you started working out), then you may not be in energy deficit, and this is what contributes to weight loss.

    I learned that you need to be in energy deficit by 3500 calories per week (or 500 calories per day) to lose 1 pound per week. Yikes! Exercise helps achieve this, but smaller portions of healthy food can help too.

    And like everyone else said, even if you can't see the changes (as in, smaller waist size or as is the case for me, less of a gut), your body is thanking you!

    Like

  6. Wot they said. + (as PiT mentioned) burning fat & replacing it with muscle can actually increase your weight, but in a good way. Ignore that evil number!

    Measure yourself like Chall said, and remember, one month isn't enough if you're starting from a 0 baseline πŸ™‚

    Like

  7. Chall – yeah, I've done the measurement thing before, but I didn't want to deal with it (because that makes it all about my size, and my goal is for health/well-being instead).

    Bee – I know (like the others have said) that it doesn't convert fat to muscle, but the more muscle one has the more efficient your body is at burning fat.

    Anon – yes, I've noticed that my weight fluctuates a lot (+/- 5 pounds!), so weighing myself probably isn't the best way.

    PiT – yup, that (choosing low fat options) is something I do already. I started doing that a couple years back when I was working with a trainer.

    x-ine – (unfortunately) I know all about the math. I wanted to lose 15 pounds about 5 years ago, and so that's exactly what I did. I recorded everything that went into my mouth and made sure I was eating 3500 calories a week less than my body would burn. It worked, but it was absolute HELL. It took me 3 months to lose 15 pounds, and I was pretty much miserable the whole time because I had to be so rigid about everything (I was working out 5 days a week AND doing the calorie counting thing).

    Anyway, I sure don't want to do that again, but I do need to watch what I'm eating more. I think it will really help being at work because I'm not snacking as much and I have to walk around more.

    Tideliar – I think ignoring the number might be the best thing for me. As I mentioned in my response to x-ine, it takes a HUGE amount of effort for me to lose even a little bit of weight. And honestly, that's not something I'm willing to do again (I'd rather be chubby and happy than thin and miserable! LOL)

    Like

  8. Wow, lots of comments already! I can't remember whether you like it or not (I think not?), but I managed to lose loads on a pretty good sushi diet. Unintentionally as well. It was nice. Stress makes me bigger, so right now I'm trying to exercise and eat well, to reduce the effects of the stress. Fat is good in that it gives you the sensation of being full, so I think it's important to not cut it out too much. Sugar is more important to avoid (but not chocolate!) I also think it's better to eat more often rather than letting oneself become too hungry inbetween meals. Smaller portions. I also feel much healthier not eating too much meat (and especially avoid american meat that might have hormones)… But I know you like meat, so perhaps just the latter… πŸ˜‰

    Like

  9. Well done you! Keep it up! [and similar encouraging noises]

    This is a lovely blog layout by the way.

    Like

  10. Thanks, professor, I didn't literally mean fat converts to muscles. My most sincere apologies for the inaccuracy.

    Like

  11. Theresa – not a fan of sushi at all, but it sounds like it worked for you! I agree on the stress thing – I definitely gain weight more easily if I'm stressed.

    Thanks Richardipus!

    LOL Bee πŸ™‚ You gotta be more specific I guess!

    Like

  12. Sorry, I suppose I've converted too many of my brain cells to fat πŸ˜‰

    Like

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

