SuperBowl Menu

I love SuperBowl Sunday. It’s honestly my favorite day of the year. Some look forward to Christmas, some to their birthday, but SuperBowl Sunday is what I live for.

I love the 6-8 hours of pre-game, where they get people like Morgan Freeman to narrate amazing mash-ups and previews. I love the analysis, I love the interviews, I (of course) love the game, and best of all, I love this:

Fig. 1: First course of the 2009 SuperBowl spread.

Yup. This is the one day a year where it’s perfectly acceptable, and even expected, to eat as much junk food as humanly possible. All…day…long. I start thinking about what I want on the menu weeks in advance, making sure there is the perfect balance of salty, sweet, and sour. It’s imperative to have a veggie and/or fruit platter in there to cleanse the palate between gorging on Peanut M&Ms, rippled chips with a sour-cream based dip, nachos, chicken wings, and bite-size lemon tarts.

This year, I was thinking about doing a gourmet SuperBowl spread – creating wonderful things like beef sliders, tandoori chicken kabobs, home-made onion rings, stuffed mushroom caps, and mini cheesecakes. But, since we’re buying a house this summer, I felt that I should wait until next year, where we can have a proper SuperBowl party, with a big screen TV and, you know…other people.

Yup – that’s right. DH and I celebrate SuperBowl and eat the celebratory snacks all on our own. My guess is that we do it because it’s, in fact, pretty embarrassing how much food we have on the table. But, it’s also one of our favorite traditions, and have done it each year since we started dating. So, in order for us to feel closer as a couple, we need to do this. You see?

Happy SuperBowl weekend, everyone!

Comments on: "SuperBowl Menu" (8)

  1. Popcorn??

    Like

  2. I love popcorn – we may add it if the other food isn't enough! LOL

    Like

  3. SO FUN! We are making jambalaya and King Cake and having friends over before the game so everyone can get their kids in bed before it actually starts. I think I need to go buy some Peanut M and Ms now, though!

    Like

  4. Becca – the M&Ms are a must have, especially with salty snacks πŸ™‚ Your menu sounds great too!

    Like

  5. Have fun! Next year's party sounds like a really fun time.

    I don't know what I'm going to do yet, not being an American football fan at all. Last year I went snow shoeing, but this year the mountains are all closed to preserve what little snow there is for the Olympics. Maybe I'll go for a nice long bike ride.

    Like

  6. You are so cute – I love that you make all that food for you and DH! I wanna come to your house!!! That spread looks delish!

    Like

  7. Sounds so yummy!! I just came across a recipe for buffalo chicken dip, and thought I needed to find some reason to make it! I think I'll have to find a superbowl party to crash out here πŸ™‚

    Like

  8. that…looks….DELICIOUS!!!!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

