Great Impostor Syndrome Post

Head over to Steve Schwartz’s blog to read a fantastic post about how none of us know what the hell we’re doing.

I will be giving a keynote talk on the Impostor Syndrome to about 125 graduate students next Saturday (the 27th). Yes, I am freaking out about how little I know about the topic, and yes, I realize how ironic that is.

PS: For those of you waiting for the next installment of the worry series, it will probably be a while. I will summarize all seven steps into one post and I’m not sure when I’ll be able to read it all. I promise it will come though!

Comments on: "Great Impostor Syndrome Post" (2)

  1. That is a great explanation and very true.

    I came from an engineering background and moved into a biology field for my PhD. The more I learned about the field, the more I realized how much I DIDN'T know. This was confounded by this persistent panicked feeling of “I don't have a biology background, how am I going to speak intelligently about this!”.

    Now, three years in it to, the imposer syndrome is still very strong. I do feel better when I hav a conversation with my advisor or someone else distinguished in the field and they admit to not knowing something.

    Good luck on the 27th. I would love to have a seminar like this at my school.

    Like

  2. That *was* a great post. It's similar to something I've heard my dad say: you can have eager or lazy engineers, and you can have dumb or smart engineers…the engineer he hates to have working on a project for him is a dumb and eager engineer, who only creates more work for him. heh :).

    thanks for posting the link!

    Like

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

