And the Torch Goes Out

I don’t know what it is about the Olympics, but it is always so emotional. I get all wrapped up in the national pride we feel when one of our athletes wins a medal (or doesn’t and think they have disappointed the country). I get teary-eyed during the mini-documentaries they show throughout the games, during some commercials, and definitely when they extinguish the torch.

It’s amazing what the Olympics does to us as individuals, nations, and the world as a whole. It is just such a positive and moving experience to be a part of (even if that means watching from your couch). Not only do I feel pride when Canadian athletes do well, but it’s also fun to watch all the medal winners…no…all athletes. To see all of their hard work over the past four years pay off, and to see what pure happiness looks like. It’s amazing to see how sports can bring the whole world together.

Canada went into the games expecting to “Own the Podium”. And while we didn’t top the medal standings (kudos to the USA!!), we did some unimaginable things. We finally got the first gold medal on Canadian soil – and then 13 more. In fact, we have broken the record for number of gold medals by any country in any winter Olympics. That’s pretty good, I think!

Some of my favorite moments (just to name a few – there were so many):
– Alexandre Bilodeau winning the first gold for Canada
– Watching Christine Nesbitt win gold with the members of the Earth Sciences department (where her dad works)
– Petra Majdic winning a bronze medal in cross-country skiing with broken ribs and a punctured lung
– Watching Apolo Ohno pass from behind so many times to win three more medals
– Jon Montgomery drinking a pitcher of beer in Whistler
– Kevin Martin and his team going 11-0 in men’s curling
– Sid the Kid scoring the game-winning goal in the hockey gold medal game

But, my favorite thing of the whole games was watching Canadians show their pride. Hearing the fans sing “Oh Canada” at the curling matches or seeing everyone wave their flags in the streets just made me feel so happy to be a Canadian. Not often do we show our national pride like that, but it doesn’t mean it’s not there. We just needed a really good excuse to bring it out.

Congratulations Canada for such a wonderful, successful, Olympic games!

PS: I did finish my blanket for the knitting Olympics! I will be posting about it soon.

Comments on: "And the Torch Goes Out" (5)

  1. my fave moment: hearing the audience sing Oh Canada and seeing the Swedish curling team win!! 🙂

    (we did not manage 13 golds but we did ok….as long as we forget the poor hockey!)

    Like

  2. I, too, found myself absolutely loving the Olympics. My best friend from elementary school has had the goal of the Olympics since I knew her, and this year she fell just short (she was an alternate for the US Women's short track). And the combination of experiencing what that determination is like, and then seeing its results on tv? It's impressive. As much as I have never been a good athlete myself, I have always respected those who do it, do it well, and do it with class. It's awesome.

    Like

  3. I was so thrilled for Canada! I get a little weary of the US attitude about winning and it was so wonderful to see the genuine joy the Canadian crowds and athletes displayed during the medals ceremonies! What a nice bunch!

    Like

  4. It was so sad to see the Olympic flag gone from Vancouver City Hall this morning. The Paralympic flag will fly for another few weeks, but then that will be gone too. It was the most visible symbol today of how much I'm going to miss the wonderful atmosphere of the Olympics. It was one hell of a party and I am so proud to have watched it as a new Canadian.

    Currently working on plans to make it to London 2012 and maybe even Sochi 2014… I may have to become one of those people that goes to every single one!

    Like

  5. I think my faves were the two women's 2-person bobsled teams (and actually the bronze medal US team too). Of all the athletes I saw, that group of six medalists looked like the ones who were having the most fun, and taking themselves the least seriously.

    Like

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

