Olympic Blanket

I completed my project for the knitting Olympics during the closing ceremonies! It was a close one, but I managed to pull it off – all in the midst of searching for and buying a house (more on this later).

I started this blanket in August, when we first started “trying”. Since then I have worked on it in spurts, and there was about a month or so around Christmas where I didn’t even look at it.

I’m glad Yarn Harlot hosted the knitting Olympics this year, because it really motivated me to finally finish this blanket off. And, here is my reward (besides the sense of accomplishment, of course):


Now I have almost two balls of pastel yellow yarn left – perfect for knitting baby hats for all of my expectant friends!

Comments on: "Olympic Blanket" (12)

  1. It's beautiful!! So sweet. Makes me want to start a project, but I keep forgetting how to cast on.

    Like

  2. So beautiful! I love the small squares. And it looks soooooo soft and cuddly-friendly 🙂

    Like

  3. It's gorgeous! Well done!

    Like

  4. It turned out great!!!

    Like

  5. Oh I love it, great job!
    How long have you been knitting for? It's something I may want to try out as a new hobby/skill.

    Like

  6. Love it! Congratulations!

    Like

  7. Thank you everyone!

    Becca – I re-learned using YouTube videos (easier for me than trying to learn from a book). The Knitwitch is really good 🙂

    Liz – I've been knitting for just over a year now. It didn't take long to be able to figure out the basics in order to be able to make scarfs, hats, and this blanket.

    Like

  8. Nice blankie. Someone will enjoy that. 🙂

    Congrats on buying a house! I remember that process well – and never want to do it again (Mrs. Ricardipus, on the other hand, does not necessarily agree with this view).

    Like

  9. I'll go ahead and add my praises to the choir…it looks beautiful!! 🙂

    Like

  10. that is really really pretty! nice job alyssa.

    Like

  11. I LOVE IT! I don't check your blog for awhile and I miss out on so much…Fantastic. Can you send me the pattern?

    Like

  12. Jessica – the blanket is based on this pattern. I didn't do the boarder the same way though (I just did the knit stitch the whole 14 rows).

    Like

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

