Okay, all you knitters out there, I need your help!

I have just started this very cute totebag. My main color is chocolate brown, and the accent color will be a Tiffany blue. I’m so excited for it!

I am currently doing the base, but my question is what do I do when the base is finished and I move on to the sides? The pattern says “With circular needles, pick up and knit 10 stitches along short side of base…” (the link above shows the whole pattern, if you’d like to read the whole thing for context).

My question is: Should I bind off the base before starting the sides? I think that’s the only way that will allow me to start along the short side of the base. But, maybe I’m missing something?

Any suggestions would be appreciated!

Comments on: "Help with Knitting Pattern Needed!" (7)

  1. I think you should not bind off the base. When you are finished, the base will be a rectangle, where you have 60 sticthes on your needle along one longer side. The other three sides of the rectangle are “finished” for the lack of a better word. What you should do is to move those 60 stitches to a circular needle and then start picking up more stitches. First 10 along one shorter side of the rectangle, 60 along the opposite longer side (where you cast on your rectangle), then 10 along the opposite shorter side. This will give you 60 original stitches + (10+60+10) new stitches that you picked up = 140 stitches.

    Hope this helps.

    Like

  2. Alyssa, I was going to say the same thing that Pika said….I had a slipper pattern that did the same thing…learning how to pick up those stitches for me at least was difficult. Good Luck! It's a very cute bag!!

    Like

  3. Pika and Jessica are right; you definitely don't want to bind off. Also, unless you're going for the more durable tote, don't forget to drop one strand of yarn, since the base is knit w/2 strands.

    Good luck! It's a super cute bag!

    Like

  4. Pika – thank you so much for explaining it! Now it makes total sense!

    Jess – hopefully it won't be too difficult. What did you find was the hardest part?

    Liz – yup, I'll probably go to just one strand for the sides.

    Thanks everyone! I'm sure I'll have more questions in the future 🙂

    Like

  5. I have no idea what the knitting-speak means, lol, but this is such a great project! Can't wait to see the finished product!

    Like

  6. Alyssa – Sorry just getting back to this, I found the hardest part was getting the right amount of stitches, but I am not a great knitter- and I was worse when I was doing the bags and the slippers 🙂 Can't wait to see the finished product.

    Like

  7. Alyssa–It may be easier to use a crochet hook to pick up your stitches. Draw up a loop, then place it on your left needle.

    Like

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

