Playoffs

I haven’t posted anything about the NHL playoffs this year. Mostly because my team, the Calgary Flames, didn’t even make it into the first round, so my interest is lower than normal.

Now, with the Penguins and Canucks out in the second round, I might just have to stop watching! None of the teams that are left are particularly interesting to me.

I know, I know – I’m Canadian so I should cheer for the last remaining Canadian team. Know what I say to that? HELLS NO. Yes, it’s nice that they knocked out the President’s trophy winners and the Stanley Cup champions, but I can’t bring myself to cheer for a team whose fans riot when they WIN for God’s sake.

Anyway, I’m just going to leave it at that and start looking forward to next season. Hopefully the Flames can turn it around, and hopefully some interesting teams will be in the finals.

Comments on: "Playoffs" (7)

  1. well, when I read the Globe and Mail article they stated that “it's not the fans who riot, it's trouble makers”.

    but sure… I can see your point. But it was a feat to beat the cup masters and wash.

    (but as evident, I'm on the canadia/en band wagon. I was sort a called a bad name yesterday too so… 🙂 I'm just trying here. Bet and all)

    Like

  2. It's not the first time it has happened there (or the last, I'm sure). It was a feat – but considering I'm a big fan of the Penguins, it was not a happy feat for me! LOL

    Like

  3. well, there is that of course. I forgot for a second where that Crosby train was 🙂

    sorry.

    I guess I am just a sucker for that underdog mentality. Oh, and Halak 😉 (almost as Hasek in his prime in my mind… there is something about those golies. I'm such a shallow girl ^^)

    Like

  4. Oh you're just a sore loser :))Go habs Go!!!!

    Like

  5. GO HABS!

    I usually root for whichever team knocked my team out. It makes me feel slightly better to think that at least we lost to the eventual champions. I did this last year, but then when Chicago knocked us out AGAIN exactly one year later, I just couldn't bring myself to do it. So Montreal it is!

    Also: GO SHARKS! I hope you beat those Chicago bastards.

    Like

  6. LOL SM! What kind of fan would I be if I wasn't a sore loser? 🙂

    Cath – sounds like a good enough reason! I might just cheer for whoever wins the Philly/Boston series just to be different.

    Like

  7. Oh dear, I had a feeling someone would mention something about the “riot.”

    Just as it was in 2008 (and 1993), the riot was started by opportunistic hooligans well after the main party had died down. These people showed up with hammers and bricks: are you going to paint all us Habs fans with the same brush? I'm no hooligan. Had I been in town, I would have cheered and sang in the streets, then gone home to get ready for round 3 like the rest of the real fans.

    Yes, I am being overly defensive, and with good reason. I'm tired of the bad rep Habs fans get because of the small handful of non-fans who spoil an otherwise good party.

    Like

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

