Conference #1

It’s the last day of the CASCA conference I posted about last time, and I’m more than ready to go home. Yes, it was nice to see some good friends, but this conference (as with others in the past) has just reinforced that I do not want to continue along the academic path in astronomy (or at all).

I sit in the sessions and am bored out of my mind. I don’t find any research interesting. At. All. I also don’t feel like I fit in with these people. They love what they do (which is great!) and want to talk about it all the time. I just have no interest in it, and I almost feel bad being here because of that.

I did enjoy the education session – or at least the part I was able to attend, as I had to leave half way through to give my science talk in a parallel session. I received some great feedback and suggestions for the outreach project (and a nasty-ish email that basically said I shouldn’t bother – yet another reason why I hate academia, Thanks for your support!).

In addition, I found out during my education talk that the physics/astronomy department won an award for outreach this year. Funny enough, no one told me about it – so when someone asked me about it during the question period, I stood there looking like an idiot. Thanks guys!

Sigh. I’m grumpy.

Comments on: "Conference #1" (3)

  1. I wanted to ask why you went there in t he first place, but I suppose the possibility to give the outreach talk must have been why …
    I love academia, still, but I also see your point of hating it (really it is probably a love-hate relationship for most of us). I always wonder why there are so many “grumpy old men” (yeah it's usually men right?!) who spoil it with things like that email you received. Somehow academia attracts more weird and socially impaired people than other professions.Sometimes I feel I don't really belong because I am too normal.
    Hope your next conferences are better!

    Like

  2. Yes, Nina – my biggest reason for going was to present the outreach project and to get some feedback. So, in that regard, it went well. Too bad that was only a small fraction of the week!

    I also caught up with a few friends I haven't seen in a while, so that was good too.

    Like

  3. I guess the bright point is that you know what you enjoy and don't enjoy. I'm sorry that your department didn't tell you about the award, that does suck.

    Like

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

