Painting

We had the majority of the interior of the house painted this week. After the annoyance of painting our room and the guest room, we just had painters come in and do it. The only room we have left now is the nursery, which we will do once we know Baby G’s gender.

Here are some before and after shots. We are in the process of adding all the finishing touches, but these give a good idea of the paint colors.

Fig. 1: The living room before was a light tan color. The ceiling was, of course, painted the same color.

Fig. 2: The living room after. The yellow certainly warms the room, and the white on the ceiling makes the room feel larger.

Fig. 3: The dining room before. That red stripe is lovely, isn’t it? Apparently the woman who lived here before didn’t like straight lines, and it shows. They attempted to put it on straight, but instead of using tape, they drew a line in pencil to guide them. It didn’t work.

Fig. 4: We stayed with stripes, but in a more traditional way. The light yellow is the same as in the living room, while the other is a 1/2 tone darker.

Fig. 5: The foyer and main stairwell before. Again, the blue was on the ceiling as well.

Fig. 6: Foyer and stairwell after. The yellow is the same as in the living room, and the ceiling is white now.

Fig. 7: Office before. They tried to do some sort of faux finish, and the same on the ceiling of course!

Fig. 8: The office after. All I can say is “ahhhhh“.
Comments on: "Painting" (10)

  1. Beautiful! I love the stripes in the dining room – so pretty and classic!

    Like

  2. is there some fashion that I don't know about that you paint the walls and the celing in the same colour??

    I mean, I'd be happy to explore other colours than white in the celing.. just not following the wall around since I would think Ibut I don't know) that it would make it feel like a box?.

    Love the dining room, very classic! (And I'm partial to blue so the office made me happy 🙂 )

    Like

  3. Thanks Ella and SM!!

    Chall – I've seen it done once in a while, but not ALL over the house like it was here. It very much turns the room in to a box – it tends to bring the ceiling down.

    Like

  4. Looks good — I especially like what you did in the dining room!

    Like

  5. Nice job!

    It amuses me how scientists label photos as fig.1, fig.2 etc.,

    Like

  6. When I first moved out from my parents, I moved into a house that had a somewhat similar colour pattern as is featured in your “before” pictures. You must be colour blind to not go absolutely crazy in a house like that!
    I love all the yellow! White is so boring (except on the ceiling), and yellow is so nice and warm, great choice!

    Like

  7. Awesome! I love that yellow 🙂

    Like

  8. What awesome improvements, Alyssa! I wish we'd taken before and afters in here!

    Like

  9. I have observed this carried out every now and then, although not All around the home enjoy it had been right here. This greatly becomes the area into the container — this has a tendency to provide the actual roof lower.

    cheap fifa 14 coins
    lol elo boost
    fifa ultimate team coins
    fifa coins for sale

    Like

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

