Back to the Same?

The last week or so I have started to feel queasy and very tired again in the evenings. I’m fine all day, but when 5-6pm comes along, I just feel icky, and don’t want to eat (or at least don’t want to eat the meals we planned at the beginning of the week). I’m not sure if it’s because I’m off my morning sickness medication finally (went off about 1.5 weeks ago), or maybe I’m not eating enough during the day, or maybe I have some sort of nutrient deficiency?

In any case, I don’t want to cook, and we end up eating cereal, or simple sandwiches. I guess that’s fine – as long as we’re eating something – but it’s sure getting boring too! So, does anyone have any easy, fast, healthy, summery, recipes they’d like to share?

In other news, reviews came back on my PhD paper (#3), and the comments were very minor. So, the changes have been made and I’ll be resubmitting today! Horray!!

Comments on: "Back to the Same?" (4)

  1. Anonymous said:

    Sorry to hear you've been feeling sick again!

    Frise Salad is one of my favourites to make ahead of time so that when the time comes I can just pull it out the fridge (seems to keep pretty well in the fridge for up to two days .. so I tend to make it on a Saturday and snack on it Sunday and Monday when I'm feeling lazy). It's a Rachel Ray recipe (yeah I know what you're thinking – but it's actually really good if you're in a salad type mood)

    http://www.foodnetwork.com/recipes/rachael-ray/absolutely-fabulous-frise-easy-salad-recipe/index.html

    Like

  2. Congrats on the paper!

    Sorry to hear the nausea is back. 😦 I had a few problems with my stomach this past month, but usually when I ate larger, fatty meals…even good fatty (ie salmon). I've switched to smaller snacks, more veggies, salads, fruits, and crackers, with some cheese and yogurt mixed in. It's definitely helped. Maybe playing with what you're eating during the day, when you feel good, might help?

    Also, if you're into pasta, I like making a pot of couscous with a can of stewed tomatoes, some basil and garlic boiled with the water. Top with some pasteurized feta, and you've got a quick, easy, and filling meal.

    Hope you get to feeling better!

    Like

  3. I've been trying to think of something that would work for you, but I am realizing that most of my quick, summery recipes involve fish. So, not the best for a pregnant person – or is it just raw fish that you can't eat?

    My other standby meals tend to be pasta, homemade pizza (using premade crust or flatbread from the grocery store)and lately, Michael Smith's grilled chicken with 10 toppings. It's really easy – you just have to grill the chicken and then pick your toppings, which can be pretty much anything you have in your fridge/pantry that you want to use up. I've made it with basil pesto, and also made it once with pasta sauce and mozarella. I have his cookbook that lists the 10 topping suggestions, I can scan it and email it to you if you like or photocopy it for the next book club meeting. Let me know! And hope you feel better!

    Like

  4. Anon – thanks for the suggestion! I actually have a couple recipes from Rachel Ray 🙂

    MDO – I'm finding I can't eat much at one sitting either. So, smaller meals (but more often) seem to be helping.

    Andrea – you can't eat raw fish, and some others that I never really deal with anyway (like shark). But, fish is off my list because it just makes me nauseous to think about! LOL!

    Definitely bring the recipe with you to the book club if you remember (or scan and email would work too). Thanks!

    Like

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

