I am hosting this month’s Scientiae. Since summer is a great time “check in” on one’s life, I thought it might be nice to look back on a previous time capsule (May 2009 Scientiae), and think about what’s in store for the next year.

Here is what I wrote over a year ago (with some comments in bold):

What I’m doing right now
– finishing up my analysis for project #3 so I can finally write my thesis (definitely done!)
– heading into the last week of my astronomy outreach program (it was sad to hand it over, but I’ve been lucky to start some new outreach projects)
– looking to hire someone to take my place in my other outreach program (that was done shortly after)
– preparing for our trip to South America (No matter how much we prepared, the trip went beyond all our expectations – including me getting my passport stolen!)

What will happen in the next 6 months
– finish my thesis, submit and defend – all by the end of September (done, done, and done – all ahead of schedule, by August 1st!)
– trip to South America in August (this became my reward for finishing my thesis early! Thank goodness I didn’t have to worry about all that stuff while traveling.)
– get the ball rolling on moving (or possibly moving!) (Or not moving! We ended up staying right here when DH got a permanent job as a research scientist)
– start looking at job possibilities once we know where we will move (Once DH took the job, I started looking into jobs, and am now working as a post-doc in the Earth Sciences department)
– thinking seriously about starting a family (Check! We started “trying” in September, 2009, went through a miscarriage, and am now expecting #1 in November)

What I think life will be like in a year from now
– settled in our new city (well, kind of check, since we never moved!)
– looking for/buying a house (we bought a house in February and moved in at the end of April!)
– having a new job in science outreach and/or education (not quite yet, but there is a strong possibility of one coming up soon)
– being pregnant!! (it’s TRUE!!! Due in November!)
– shopping for a new car (we’re doing that this month, in fact!)

So, I think I did pretty well with my predictions! Let’s see how I do this time:

What’s going on now
– trying to set up an education & outreach program for the observatory
– working on an insurance project for my post-doc
– preparing for Baby G’s arrival in November
– trying to hammer down a job for when I return after maternity leave
– knitting a tote bag

What will happen in the next six months
– buy a new car in August/September
– run two more outreach events (another open house and an event for the International Observe the Moon Night)
– finish off projects for my post-doc before I go on maternity leave
– finally submit MSc paper #2
– do a good chunk research on physics/astronomy education in Canada for a collaborative paper
– finish knitting that tote
– Baby G comes in November
– Have my parents visit at Christmas, and DH’s parents visit shortly after
– Maybe visit my parents in Arizona in the new year with Baby G

What I think life will be like in a year from now
– have an education/outreach job lined up for when I return from maternity leave (earliest start date would probably be May 1st)
– have an education & outreach program up and running for the observatory
– have a wonderful first summer with Baby G and enjoying each little milestone he hits
– go to Montreal with DH and Baby G (our first trip as a family)
– have some more renovations/projects done on the house (maybe a deck in the backyard and a second bathroom)

This will be another year of BIG changes for us! I am especially looking forward to Baby G’s arrival and getting out of research and into education & outreach.

Comments on: "August Scientiae: Time Capsule" (1)

  1. oh dear me… I don't think I wrote anything that May … it seems like you have a good eye for what's going to happen with your life 🙂

    I wish I knew more about my life, but as I realised a few years back… I can't control it so I'd better just adapt and move along (and dream, hope and make somethings happen of course). Good luck with the job finding and everything else of course!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

