31 Work Days To Go

Not that I’m counting or anything, but I have a maximum of 31 work days to go before I start my maternity/parental leave on November 15th. Of course, things could happen to make me leave work early, like having to go on bed-rest or Baby G arriving early, but planning for the longest length of time is probably best.

Now, here’s a strange problem – I am running out of things to do! I seriously don’t know if I’ll have enough work to keep me busy until November 15th. Back in August, I listed everything I need to get done before I leave work. Here is my progress:

1. MSc paper – I passed the latest draft on to my MSc supervisor at the end of June. I have sent her a couple emails, reminding her that if the paper isn’t submitted by the time I go on maternity leave it never will be (it’s been over 5 years in the making). I haven’t heard a thing.

2. Post-doc project – this is basically on hold until I get some vital information from our collaborators. I have been asking for it for weeks now, and nothing has come of it.

3. Outreach how-to packages – these have been written up and sent to the appropriate people. The equipment has also been transferred to someone else.

4. Post-doc lit search – this still has to be finished, but is a small project.

5. Education conference – the lit search has been done. Other people have signed up to take over my organizational role.

6. Astronomy outreach – all events are done. I may or may not meet with the department head about the observatory project again before I leave.

7. Post-doc association stuff – the only things I have left to do is attend one more meeting and a post-doc get together (both next week).

So, as you can see, I have very little to work on right now. The days are starting to drag by because I’m getting pretty bored, and it seems it will get worse as I check off more and more things off my to-do list. I guess I shouldn’t complain. I mean, how often do we get to say we don’t have enough to do?

What I’m guessing will happen is I’ll get what I need for #1 and #2 too late and all of a sudden be freaking out that I won’t have enough time to get it all done!

Comments on: "31 Work Days To Go" (5)

  1. Getting close now!!

    Maybe you can add some home projects to the list–like relax and watch TV more? 😉

    Like

  2. Becca – well, that's what I'm kind of doing 🙂 I figure there's no point going into work if there's nothing for me to work on, so I'll take it day by day!

    Like

  3. Seems we'll be going onto maternity leave around the same time. The Swedes give me 60 days before EDD. Not that I'm counting or anything 😉

    Like

  4. Bee – yeah, we can take up to 8 weeks before the due date. But, because I'm on contract and aren't an employee, my benefits aren't as good (i.e., I don't get any pay except from the government, whereas employees get “topped up” – my husband will get 95% of his salary for up to 17 weeks after the baby arrives). So, I figured I would just work as long as I could.

    Like

  5. Wonder if they'd notice if you sat and your desk and knit?!

    Like

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

