Surprise!

Well – Tuesday certainly turned into an interesting day!

At about 2pm I felt this gush of fluid, and by 6pm Evan Michael was born!!! It went crazy fast – I called DH and my midwife at about 2:30. DH came home, packed a bag for me, and we met my midwife at the hospital by 3:30. They did a bunch of checks, and sure enough I was in labor. By the time the on-call OB checked me (I don’t remember what time) I was 8cm!! They asked if I wanted an epidural, but I figured if I got through to that point without one, then I’ll just go for the glory. That was the only interaction I had with the OB.

Let me be frank – labor SUCKED!! It was excruciating, and pushing was really really difficult. But, I didn’t have the choice and just kept plugging away. I think I must have said (and by said, I mean screamed at the top of my lungs) “I can’t do this anymore!!” and “I just want him out!!” about 1000 times! But, I did it, and he came within 4 hours of my water breaking.

He weighs 6 lbs 9 oz (2980 grams), and he looks to be doing alright for the most part. He had some initial problems breathing and his glucose levels were low, so he was put in the NICU. However, his breathing is great now and his sugar levels are getting better. We don’t know right now how long he will need to be in the NICU. Will keep everyone posted on that.

Phew!! What a frickin’ crazy day!

So, let’s see – for the pool I’ll take all the entries that are in there as of right now (11:30am Eastern Time on Oct. 20th). That means the winners are:

Birth date: October 19th – closest guess was RB with November 11th!!

Weight: 6 pounds 9 ounces (2980 grams) – closest was Nicole with 7 pounds 4 ounces!!

Length of labor: 4 hours – closest was RB again with 3 hours!!

Congrats to the winners (and I’m sure thankful some of you lost with your huge weight and long labor estimates)! Please email me at mrscomethunter “at” rogers “dot” com to claim your prize (of course, it might take a while before we’re settled over here to get it all done, but you will be getting them!).

Comments on: "Surprise!" (24)

  1. Holy Moly! Congrats, he is gorgeous!

    Like

  2. Holy cow…can't believe he came so early!! Congratulations!!!!! I'm so glad y'all are all doing well, and he's as handsome as can be!!

    We'll hopefully be joining you before too long. 🙂

    Like

  3. Woah!! What a surprise!! He's a sweetheart and I love his name. Congratulations!! Best wishes for a quick recovery and short NICU stay.

    Like

  4. CONGRATULATIONS! What a cutie. My goodness, that all happened crazy fast and EARLY. Or do they now suspect they were off on your due date? Wishing all three of you a wonderful time of getting to know one another and good health too!

    Like

  5. Wow, congrats Alyssa! I love the name

    Like

  6. WoW! Can't believe all of this happened since your last post! Congratulations!
    I'm really happy I didn't win the pool for LL 🙂

    And you're back blogging, you are already totally a super-mom.

    Like

  7. Congratulations!!! He's beautiful!

    Like

  8. Congratulationsto both you and Evan! I'm glad to hear it went without any problems.

    Like

  9. Congratulations! Glad you are all well 🙂

    Like

  10. Oh wow! Congrats, Alyssa! I was convinced he'd be a few days late 😉 Well, it's great to hear Evan is doing well and I hope he'll be out of the NICU soon. Keep us posted!

    Like

  11. Holy Crap! This IS a surprise! Love the name.
    Congratulations. Wishing you a speedy recovery.

    Like

  12. Anonymous said:

    Congratulations !!
    PVP

    Like

  13. Congratulations!!!

    Like

  14. Congratulations!! That's a pretty good weight for being born so early. That ought to bode well for being able to bring him home soon. Best wishes to you all!

    Like

  15. Oh my God! Congrats Alyssa!

    Best wishes to your whole family. He's pretty big, which is great!

    Enjoy your little bundle! I'm so happy for you!

    Like

  16. Holy crap, no epidural?! You are a rock star! Again, it's great to hear that he's doing so well and hopefully you get to bring home very soon. Can't wait to see more of the little guy once you do get him home 🙂

    Like

  17. Congratulations! 4 hours, wow!

    Like

  18. Woohoo! He's beautiful. and OMG 4 hours?!!! My legs are crossed screaming OUCH.

    Remember to take time for yourself!, BFing is hard and can take upto 2 months to master and if you don't / can't, that is OK. Happy mommy = happy baby, so do what is best for you and your health.

    Like

  19. Congratulations! He's a beautiful boy!

    Like

  20. Anonymous said:

    Congratulations! So obviously you wouldn't be at the infosocial next week.. hehe.. 🙂

    So was he really the size of a honeydew according to your widget? 🙂

    A_Green_Monster (you can figure out who this is by my comment, I think, no? :))

    Like

  21. Holy cow! Congrats! V.happy to hear that all is well. Hope the little one will be out of the NICU soon.

    Like

  22. Congrats Alyssa!!! What a happy surprise. And glad to hear that everyone is doing well. Guess he just couldn't wait to meet his mommy 🙂

    Like

  23. Congrats Alyssa! What a wonderful surprise and so glad to hear he is doing well! I am so very happy for you and your husband! The next few months are the most magical and wonderful and enjoy every minute with your precious son! Sending you big hugs!

    Like

  24. Congrats! Gee, I look away for two days and the little baby boy decides to show 🙂

    I'm happy all went well and hope he gets out of NICU very soon! All the best to you and DH and of course, baby Comethunter 😉

    Like

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

