Baby Update

Thank you all for your wonderful comments and words of encouragement! I love my readers 🙂

Evan is still in the hospital, but he is doing really well! He was taken out of the NICU on Wednesday night, and put in what they call the NPCU (basically a step down nursery for healthier babies). His glucose levels evened out, so he is being fed either by breast milk (either directly from me or a bottle), or formula – no IV.

He has a bit of jaundice, so they’ve been using lights to treat that. He was under the lights last night and the night before, but hasn’t been under them during the day. We’re hoping his levels stay down now, but it’s a waiting game.

The biggest reason he’s still in the hospital is because he’s young and can sometimes have trouble feeding. He gets tired and falls asleep (which is so cute, but of course we’d rather have him eating enough!). So, we just need to get that to be consistent and then he’ll be closer to coming home with us.

Emotionally, it’s been a roller coaster for us. It’s hard because we weren’t expecting him to come early (of course), so weren’t really prepared for him to have to stay in the hospital. Another reason it’s hard is because he’s such a big boy, so it’s difficult to keep in mind that he came 5 weeks early and needs to develop more. Leaving him at night to come home is really sad, but we know it’s for the best that he stays where he is right now.

Will post another update soon!

Comments on: "Baby Update" (9)

  1. Congratulations! I missed your earlier announcement on your early arrival. He is adorable and I hope you can take him home soon.

    Like

  2. I'm late too, so congratulations! I hope you get to bring him home soon.

    Like

  3. (Might as well write here too 🙂 ) Congrats! Such a lovely boy. Happy to hear he is out of NICU and eating. And yeah, I can understand the frustration of not having him home yet (and forgetting he was early since he seemed a good weight and all) but slow steady progress and soon he will be there with you! All the time in the world 🙂

    Again, happy times and good luck with treating jaundice with lights and soon he will be screaming in the nights in your house (it's ok to joke a little, right? since he seems to be doing well I mean?!)

    Like

  4. Belated congrats, and I hope you get to take him home soon!

    Like

  5. Hope you can take him home soon! They grow up and leave home before you know it (at least that is what my mom said), so the earlier you have him home the better 😉

    Like

  6. Good to hear Evan's doing alright and moved out of the NICU. I know you can't wait to get him home with you, but I'm glad he's getting the good care he needs. It's so hard to believe how crazy and unpredictable all of this is! Hubby and I are both thinking about all three of y'all…hang in there!!

    Like

  7. Don't worry about jaundice. My younger had it, it went away on its own. It does make the babies extra sleepy though. 🙂

    Like

  8. I can only imagine how hard it is to leave at night. I'm glad to hear he's getting healthier and bigger. Hugs.

    Like

  9. Just wanted to say I'm an astronomer, and my first was also 5 weeks early (well 5 1/2 weeks actually) and 6lbs 11oz. Get in touch if you want to chat about late term premies ever (can find me on twitter: http://twitter.com/klmasters). My daughter had 10 days in the NICU/level 2 nursery for what sounds like similar reasons to your baby. By 1 month old you couldn't tell she was early, and now people almost don't believe me (she's 3 1/2). FYI I recently had a second baby who was full term – no problems at all. That was a big worry of mine after having one early. Not an experience I wanted to repeat. Anyway get in touch if you want.

    Like

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

