2010 Resolution Recap

It’s that time of year: to look back on the resolutions made in January and see how things went. Here is a list of my 2010 resolutions, and how I did.
1. Get rid of extraneous crap in life.
I think what I really meant here was to get rid of things that I felt obligated to do, but hated doing. I edited my Facebook friends list, and deleted a few people that I just didn’t feel comfortable being “friends” with. This actually turned into a small drama when a couple people confronted me about being deleted (get a life!). I also ended up shutting down my Nature Network blog. It was just too much of a reminder of how much I disliked research. Finally, when we moved to our house, we got rid of a ton of stuff. So, I think I did pretty good on this resolution.

2. Find one (or more) fun activities to keep fit.
At the beginning of the year I started swimming and I loved it. But, then I got pregnant and we moved, and I basically haven’t done it since. In fact, I didn’t do much on anything to keep myself in shape this year. Mostly because I felt like ass most of my pregnancy. So, I didn’t do too well on this one.

3. Read 20-25 books.
Even with Evan’s early arrival, I managed to squeeze in 20 books by the end of the year! According to my records, the worst book I read this year was Crucial Confrontations by Kerry Patterson et al. (rated 2/5), and the best book was Nineteen Minutes by Jodi Picoult (rated 4.5/5). Looking back, I think the most memorable book was The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo by Stieg Larsson.

4. Further career in education & outreach.
I did a lot in this area, even though it wasn’t officially part of my job description. I created some earthquake-related hands-on activities for a workshop in May. I worked my ass off to have two open houses at the local observatory, both of which were extremely successful. Unfortunately, it wasn’t enough to convince the “uppers” to continue with similar events, and the observatory doors will close on December 31st. I wrote my first grant application, and I pretty much have a job lined up for this coming summer (more on this later once it becomes official).

5. Buy a house & host Christmas.
We bought a house in February and moved in at the end of April. Since then, we had the kitchen renovated, all rooms painted (except the bathroom), and the soffits and gutters replaced. My mom is here right now, and my dad is joining us tomorrow for the holidays. So, I can check this one off the list!

6. Work on confidence.
This one is tough to measure. I didn’t do any specific “work” on this area, but I do feel better about myself in general. I think the pregnancy had a lot to do with it because all of a sudden I wasn’t focused on how my body looked. I still feel the same way after the pregnancy, but we’ll see if it lasts.

7. Work on anger.
Again, this is tough to measure. I have a feeling DH would say I didn’t do too well on this, since I was on an emotional roller coaster during my pregnancy, and for the 4-5 weeks after as well. But, I think Evan is really teaching me to be more patient, which is a big factor with anger!

8. Have more fun!
Hmm…not sure how to measure this one either. I feel like I’m having more fun these days, or at least enjoying our life as it is instead of thinking it should be something else. Perhaps learning that lesson is even better than the original resolution.

9. Graduate from beginner-level knitting.
Let’s see…I finally finished the baby blanket, and it took me about 8 months to finish a tote bag, but at least it was something other than a scarf! I also knitted squares that spelled out Evan, and I knitted a hat for him too.

10. Work towards a family.
We welcomed our little boy, Evan, on October 19th!

I think I did pretty well this year! Next post will be my resolutions for 2011.

Comments on: "2010 Resolution Recap" (3)

  1. What a lovely recap! Your boy is adorable– congrats!

    Like

  2. Nice going! And I think the pregnancy and arrival of Evan excuse all the areas where you didn't quite reach your goals!

    Like

  3. These are really good resolutions. It gave me something to think about – I might use some for myself for next year! And it looks like you've done well on most of them. Can't wait to hear your resolutions for 2011!

    Like

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

