"Breaks"

A friend of mine, who also is a new mom, was telling me the other day how she “escapes” to the grocery store. We talked about sad it is that a) that’s considered an escape or break, and b) she feels guilty about it.

Ever since Evan was born, both DH and I try to get out on the weekends on our own. This is basically meant to be a break – to get out of the house, and away from the parenting thing for a while. But, is going grocery shopping or running to Home Depot to pick up a filter for the furnace really a break? I don’t think so.

I also have a hard time taking breaks when I’m at home. When DH gets home from work, he is awesome. He takes Evan right away and pretty much takes care of him until bed time. Even then, I feel like I don’t get a break. How does that work?

Now, at this point I’m pretty much over feeling guilty for going out for an hour or two (so hopefully my friend will feel this way soon!), but it would be nice to have a real break. One idea for at-home breaks is to just go upstairs for an hour and do whatever (read, knit, nap). The only problem here is I like to spend time with DH in the evenings, and this would take away from it. I certainly need to get an out-of-the-house break. Maybe a pedicure is in order?

Comments on: ""Breaks"" (4)

  1. Definitely go for the pedicure!

    Like

  2. Pedicure, guilt free for mom only (no buying stuff for baby) shopping trip, girls night for a few hours…seriously, its nothing to feel guilty over. You are with your baby 24 hours a day, 7 days a week…at least I am…and these breaks are so completely necessary for your own self-care. You will feel like a new person and “normal” again after treating yourself. If you have an hour to yourself to read at home, its a great refresher. Do it do it do it! You wont regret it and your feelings of guilt will wash away.

    Like

  3. A pedicure sounds great! It's also time for a book club meeting in the near future 🙂

    Don't feel guilty about taking some time for yourself. I know it's cliched but still true – you can't properly care for anyone else if you aren't caring for yourself. Give yourself the time to relax and unwind, and give yourself permission to enjoy it!

    Like

  4. Thanks everyone! I've decided to start going back for my monthly massages – YAY! And I'm going to make an appointment for a pedicure soon.

    Like

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

