Style

One of my resolutions is to get some style before I head back to work. So, I’m considering getting a personal stylist to help me out with my look a bit.

I think I dress pretty well (especially compared to a lot of people in physics!), but I would like my wardrobe to be more complete, polished, and versatile. I would like to have a wide range of outfits – not just a top and bottom, but adding jackets, cardigans, belts, and accessories into the mix as well.

Here is my predicament though: hiring a personal stylist is pretty expensive, so I wouldn’t be able to afford a color analysis, AND a body analysis, AND a hair analysis, AND to have the person look at what I currently have, AND have them come shopping with me.

So, here’s what I’m thinking: if I go for either one of the last two (looking at my current wardrobe or getting them to shop with me), they would obviously end up letting me know what colors look good on me and what styles are best for my body type. Thus, negating the need for those two services separately. I’m happy with my make-up, and I can just go to a hair stylist to get a new cut.

Which would be more useful and fun then? Getting someone to go through my current wardrobe and then figuring out what pieces I need to make it more functional, or getting someone to go shopping with me to get main pieces to build a wardrobe around?

Comments on: "Style" (13)

  1. Most major department stores now have a “personal shopper” service and it's FREE — see if you can tap into that and then if you can, first have someone come and go through your current wardrobe and help you figure out what you need to shop for — then use the free personal shopper (you'll need to book an appointment for that) to help you pick out those extra pieces.

    Like

  2. I think having someone shop with you would be great, but will you be able to afford the clothes a stylist might suggest if you go shopping together? If not, it might be better to have a stylist go through your closet with you. But maybe that's not an issue — I have no idea how this works!

    Whatever you decide, please post about the experience. This sounds really interesting!

    Like

  3. Wool Free – really? I had no idea! I'll have to look into that!

    EcoGeoFemme – you can choose where you want to go shopping. Also, I wouldn't think you would have to buy everything they suggest. If I were to do that, I would probably just buy a few things then keep a list of the other pieces and get them in the future. I will definitely post about it!

    Like

  4. I had no idea about the free service at dept stores! This is awesome.

    BTW–You can get lots of good style advice for free by watching “What Not to Wear” on TLC. It totally changed my outlook on how to put outfits together.

    As for your question, I would choose taking the stylist shopping with me.

    Like

  5. This reminds me of the one time when I went to a fancy hairstylist. He ended up rolling his eyes at me for wanting a low-maintenance hairdo, sneered at my limp hair “Your hair doesn't do anything…,” forbade me to have a couple of haircuts I originally wanted, and overall made me feel like crap (all topped off with actually giving me a haircut I did not like, could not maintain, and which cost a fortune.)

    I don't think I would ever dare hire a stylist: I don't want having to pay someone to roll their eyes at me and tell me how lame I look and dress (jeans or pants, with shirts or sweaters; mininal makeup, minimally styled hair). That encounter with a hairsylist snob did it for me in terms of ever again attempting to mingle with the stylish crowd.

    You are a brave woman, Alyssa. Have fun!

    Like

  6. DrO – I love that show! I do get a lot of ideas from it, but I would kind of like to experience it myself too ūüėČ

    GMP – that sucks you had such an awful experience with the hair stylist.

    Like

  7. Some high end malls have free personal shoppers, too.

    I've never used the service, though. I don't go shopping that often anymore. Most of my shopping happens when my parents take the kids for a night and Hubby and I drive up to Orange County for a night in a hotel. Our favorite getaway hotel is right across the street from a very nice mall, so we always end up doing a little shopping, too.

    Like

  8. I have just decided myself to get the Fashion Fit Formula done, I have an appointment this week so I'll let you know how that goes!

    Like

  9. Cloud – I haven't gone shopping for probably a year now (except to get maternity clothes, which isn't really fun). So, I'm very much looking forward to being able to buy real clothes again!

    Wool Free – awesome! Will you let me know how it goes?

    Like

  10. I have been a devoted reader of this blog: http://www.academichic.com/ for a while now. There are several “academic” style blogs out there, but this one features four different women (and sometimes more), and they really combine a rigorous (if somewhat tongue-in-cheek) approach with an informative delivery (homemade color wheel: http://www.flickr.com/photos/academichic/5384899569/ !). Then even if you do still use a personal shopper or stylist, you will at least be an educated consumer. Good luck!

    Like

  11. Emily – thank you for the blog suggestion!

    Like

  12. I just spent too long browsing “academichic” blog and their style is one I relate too (colour palette or thrifted-ness)! The thing that stuck out was the ratio of skirts/dresses to pants…most of the photos on the blog are the women wearing hemlines with funky tights.

    I've found this in my own day-to-day wardrobe too… I always feel more put-together (but also funky!) when I'm wearing an above-the-knee hemline. The options to make a personal style statement are greater: simple dress + cool leotards + funky woolen socks + chunky boots. Or skirt + opaque tights + cute shoes. I guess I'm a fan of layering, and with basic pieces in solid colours the permutations can be huge.

    Like

  13. Natalie – I definitely want to incorporate more skirts and dresses. I want to add more texture too if that makes sense.

    Anyway, I contacted 3 different stylists and have made an appointment with one for March 23rd! So excited, and I will be sure to blog about it!

    Like

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

