My fifth book of the year was The Girl Who Played With Fire – the second book in the three-book series written by Stieg Larsson.

I wasn’t all that impressed with the first book. That was, until I saw the movie, and then all of a sudden my opinion of it greatly improved. So much so that I was intrigued enough to read the second book. I’m happy I did, because it was so much better than the first!

One thing I found annoying in the first book was the first 100 pages or so were totally useless and completely filled with tiny detail after tiny detail. The kind of details that you think must be important to the story later on – because why else would the author include them? – but they weren’t. I found this to be true in this book’s introduction as well, but the difference was the story was more interesting.

Another thing about the first book that I didn’t particularly like was how dark and disturbing it was in parts. If you have read the book, you know what I’m talking about, if you haven’t read the book, let’s just say there are a few scenes that are squirm-worthy. This wasn’t the case in this book. The main female character, Lisbeth Salander, was portrayed more like a heroine than a victim. It was a refreshing view point of the character, and I liked that Larsson showed both sides of her in the two books.

The book was fast-paced and really interesting. It was full of surprises and, even though the book was over 700 pages, it flew by (thanks, in part, to reading most of it on my new Kindle).

Overall, the book had some of the downfalls of the first (too many names and places to keep track of, a 100-page introduction and tiny details that didn’t matter to the story), but the writing was much better and the story was more interesting. Since I gave the first book a 3.5/5, I’m going to give this one a 4/5 and hope the last book of the series can top it.

Comments on: "The Girl Who Played With Fire: Book Review" (5)

  1. Jacqueline said:

    The second book is the best of the series! Upside to the third is it picks up right where the second left off.

    Like

  2. The first two books are sitting on my “to-be-read” shelf but I can't seem to bring myself to start them. I've heard the same complaint about the beginning of the first book, so I keep putting off reading it. Thanks for the review–now that I know the second book is better, maybe I'll start the series soon.

    Like

  3. I loved the second book. In my opinion the first 300 pages in the first were useless. However the third I am REALLY having trouble getting into again.

    Like

  4. We pretty had the exact same thoughts on this one 🙂 The product name dropping was much better, though you have to love how every singe item that Salander bought at Ikea for her apartment was listed. I'm sure that made the movie producers' job very easy! Jason and I actually just watched the movie on Saturday night (still should do it as a book club thing, though!) and it was good, too. It cut out A LOT though, almost too much I thought.

    I won't say anything about the third book, but I am looking forward to your review of that!

    Like

  5. I don't know why, but I think liked the first book better. I think it was the murder-mystery side that I enjoyed.:) It took me a while to get into the second book because nothing much happened during the first part. Lisbeth only showed up in the latter part and that's when I really got into it. And I totally agree on the product names. Ikea and Apple did get a lot of credit.haha

    Like

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

