No Solicitors

I love owning a home. It’s fun to have a space you can make your own, and DH loves doing home improvement tasks both big and small. We’re both excited for spring to come so we can work on and hang out in the yard.

One thing that I absolutely hate about it, though, is the number of solicitors we get. This was never an issue when we were in an apartment, as random people (usually) couldn’t get in to go door to door. Kids weren’t even allowed to trick or treat on Halloween!

Well, now we are constantly getting people ringing our doorbell: raising money for school trips or charities, wanting to give us quotes for exterior painting (our house is brick), and politicians wanting our vote. It drives me nuts.

What’s annoying is when some of these people come by. We’ve had people show up at 9:30pm on a Sunday night, or during dinner time. Even more annoying are the people who continue to ring the doorbell over and over again because they know we’re home. Yeah, because that will make me want to give you money.

I also hate being put on the spot, especially about giving to charities. We give a good amount to charities every year: I make a monthly donation to the World Wildlife Fund, and we make larger donations to charities close to our hearts (such at the NICU Evan was in) throughout the year. I do not need a guilt trip about “not caring about our planet” because we don’t want to give money to Green Peace when they bang at our door (seriously, this one girl wouldn’t leave poor DH alone!). It’s even worse than getting asked to donate $1 to cure an awful disease when paying for your groceries.

It’s not like I can just hang-up on them like I can do with phone solicitors. Unfortunately, I’m too nice to slam the door in their faces. I am considering buying a “No Solicitors” sign, but I’m wondering if it would actually deter people.

Comments on: "No Solicitors" (4)

  1. Candice said:

    Ever since a person selling 'cheap energy' walked into my house and sat down on the couch UNINVITED when I went to quickly look something up in another room, I have ceased answering the door…sometimes they will keep ringing, but I just ignore it (easier when you don't have a little one napping during the day, I know).

    Like

  2. We get much less of this than our neighbors, I think because we have a fenced front yard. For some reason, having to walk through a gate uninvited acts as a subconscious barrier to those who would otherwise have no problem walking up the front steps to ring the doorbell.

    If you're going to be doing yard work this summer anyway, I'd recommend fencing it – keeps the little ones from darting wandering out into the street too.

    Like

  3. Candice – oh my gosh, I would have been so mad! Good for you on not answering the door.

    AA – that's so interesting! We have bushes at the front of our lot, but it's not really a “fence”. Maybe we could make it harder to get to our door somehow. Or disable the doorbell 😛

    Like

  4. We found that the number of solicitors dropped after we'd been in the house for a little while, so maybe it will get better!

    On an unrelated note- drop me an email at wandsci at gmail dot com telling me how I should list you in my scientist mothers post- the list is divided into academic, industry, and government/other, and I generally say what sort of job the person has (if I know).

    Like

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

