Ladies – Get Fitted!!

I was unsure whether to post about this. But, it was such a life-altering, epiphany-inducing experience, that I just have to share it. Pictures and all.

We’ve all heard the stats on Oprah, in women’s magazines, or from our friends: Over 70% of women are not wearing the right bra (www.thebreastsite.com). And we’ve all sat there smugly thinking, “How can so many women not know their bra size?!”.

Well, take a look in the mirror, sweetheart – because, unless you’ve been professionally fitted in the last 12 months, I can pretty much guarantee you’re part of that statistic.

I had my first appointment with the wardrobe consultant this past week*, and she said she would not go clothes shopping with me until I’ve had a proper bra fitting. She gave me the name of her favorite lingerie store in town (Linea Intima), and told me to get it done ASAP.

I had a feeling I wasn’t wearing the right bra, as my ladies have gone through a tremendous transformation over the past year due to pregnancy and pumping. So, I called and made an appointment. It took about two minutes for the woman to measure me, but I was right. Instead of the 36/38 C/D bras I was wearing, it turns out I’m a 34E. For those of you who know bra sizing, that is quite the difference.

I tried on the first bra and I was absolutely astounded at how different I looked. Now, I know some of you are sitting there thinking “Really? I mean, yeah, you might feel better with better support, but did it actually look any different?”.

Yes. And here’s the proof (yes, I’m actually posting pictures on the internet for the purpose to have people look at the ladies. Crazy? Maybe. But it just shows you how important I think this is!):

If you can’t see the difference, I’ll eat my hat.

It look a zillion times better: the ladies are lifted to the proper height (they should sit about half way between your shoulder and elbow), and my waist looks more defined and smaller because you can see the top of my ribcage. It also feels a zillion times better. I am constantly getting headaches and have problems with my neck and shoulders, and I know those issues get better when I’m wearing a properly fitted bra.

So, ladies, I beg of you, if there is one thing you indulge in over the next month or two, it’s a really great, properly fitted bra! I don’t care if you’re young or old, big or small. DO it! And don’t go to a chain store at the mall. Go to a higher-end lingerie store with people that know what they’re doing. Yes, you’ll pay a lot more for a good bra (the one I bought was about $150 after taxes), but it will so be worth it. Trust me.

*I have three more appointments with my wardrobe consultant. I intend to do a week-long exposé on my experience in early May, so stay tuned!

Comments on: "Ladies – Get Fitted!!" (15)

  1. Wow, that is a real difference — it will make such a big difference on how your clothes fit you too. Sounds like you're having fun with your image consultant. Can't wait to hear/see more of the transformation!

    Like

  2. Wow awesome! My youngest sisters “ladies” LOL look similar to yours in the “wrong size”–I'm going to encourage her to get a professional fitting!

    I mostly just wear sports bras myself, hahah. I hate fitted bras.

    Like

  3. Lookin good momma!!

    Like

  4. You look great! And you'll notice a huge difference in how you feel and carry yourself. It's amazing what a properly fitted bra can do for you.

    I'm an F so I actually get fitted at least once a year just to make sure. I attribute wearing the right size bra to not having any back problems or dents in my shoulders from my larger bust. I've been at lease a C since I was 12, and a DD or more for the last 8 years or so, and not one back issue.

    Like

  5. Thank you for reminding me! I have lost 16 pounds over the past few months and with the pregnancy I know my bra size has changed. I have to get myself to Victoria's Secret (I always go there for my bra sizing) and see my new cup size. I know I am wearing the wrong size and I need to get down there. You look fabulous!

    Like

  6. Wool Free – yes, I can already tell what a difference it's going to make! I can't wait to write about my experiences.

    Adrienne – maybe you hate them because you haven't been fitted? One of the signs you're wearing the wrong bra is that you're uncomfortable and can't wait to get out of it at the end of the day.

    MJ – thanks!

    Good Witch – that is just awesome! Thanks for sharing, because I think it's so important to get the word out there that it really can help with back/shoulder/neck problems.

    jrose – great job on the weight loss! Good luck with the fitting 🙂

    Like

  7. I love this post. And you look great!

    I just did this last month and WOW what a difference it made! I was totally wearing the wrong size, which I guess I knew, but I didn't realize just HOW wrong it was until I got my new one.

    Like

  8. Thanks Ella! It really is amazing how off we can be in our sizing. I didn't realize we should be measured once a year, but it makes sense especially after pregnancy and/or breastfeeding.

    Like

  9. Wow,you look great, Alyssa!

    I've been meaning forever to get fitted. I just don't know when or where…

    Like

  10. Amazing! What a difference …
    no matter what bra though, your smile in all of the photos is the best!

    Like

  11. Wow!!! That is a huge difference- you look great! I must say though it is times like this which make me appreciate my small chest:)

    Like

  12. Looking good!

    I was so happy to finally get fitted for a good nursing bra last month! My girls were not doing so well before then, but I was told I couldn't wear an underwire for the first few months. Sooooo good to have them back up where they belong!! 🙂

    Like

  13. Great post and lookin' good.

    Like

  14. Marlene said:

    So much better… I started buying high-end bras and getting professional fits a little while ago too and it's *totally* worth the cost. Feels better, looks better. I also went to a larger cup and smaller band. Good for you!

    Like

  15. I can pretty much guarantee Design London you're part of that statistic.

    Like

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

