First Couple of Days

I officially started my new job on Wednesday. It’s only been two days, and I’m working from home right now, but I can tell it’s going to be a struggle having Evan around!

Don’t get me wrong – I love being with him, but it’s going to be very difficult to balance everything until he starts daycare. I find when I’m working I feel bad about not giving him the attention he needs or deserves. Then, of course, if I’m giving him attention, I’m thinking about what work needs to be done. I feel a bit bad about dragging him to meetings too (for him because it’s boring and disrupts his routine, and to the person/people I’m meeting because Evan is a distraction – a cute one, but still). It’s not a great situation.

So, I’m really starting to see how great daycare will be for both of us. He’ll get the benefit of getting much needed attention, playtime, tons of different activities, etc. while at daycare. I’ll get to focus on my work when at work, and focus on him when I’m at home. I think I’ll be a much better mother (or at least feel that way).

It’s almost nice that I get to experience trying to work at home with him, because I think I’ll feel much better about sending him to daycare!

Comments on: "First Couple of Days" (8)

  1. Yeah, you can't really work efficiently around an infant. People who do work from home a lot have to hire a nanny, at least part time.

    I think you will love sending him to daycare — a good quality childcare is a blessing for baby and mommy both! The only downside is that kids do tend to get sick a lot in the first year, but afterwards really not much at all!

    Like

  2. I've had the same experience. Daycare is good for everyone.

    Like

  3. It's hard enough to work from home with cats trying to walk on your keyboard and nudge your arm while you're typing, so I can't even imagine doing it with a kid around! I hope the time passes quickly before daycare starts.

    How's the new job going otherwise?

    Like

  4. Me and Rob discussed daycare for Jensen and I am a SAHM. We worried about him not getting enough social interaction with kids his own age. I think it will be great and he will have lots of fun! Just keep the kids cold medicine on hand because they are little germ sharers!

    Like

  5. GMP – I can definitely see why! Evan had a break down during one of my meetings today. Fun 😛

    Becca – totally agree!

    Cath – LOL! Exactly! The job is going well besides that. I really feel like it's a great fit for me and I'll love it (YAY!).

    Amy – I think that's a good idea! It would give you some time to yourself, which is always nice!

    Like

  6. Oh I totally know what you mean about feeling like you should be doing something else when you are either playing with the baby or doing work – I feel the same way when it comes to Eliza and getting my school work done. I think it's still great, though, that you are transitioning to DC slowly, and you're right, it will probably make you appreciate having him in DC more than if you hadn't had this period of transition. GL! Hope you are able to get work done!!!

    Like

  7. This was essentially my experience with the WAHM idea- for it to work, I was going to have to send the kid to day care, and then I might as well just go to an office.

    Like

  8. Ella – I'm getting some work done, but not nearly as much as I would like. I'm trying to keep things in perspective, though, and realize that I won't be as productive as usual this month.

    Cloud – yup! And I'm not a good WAH person in general (too many distractions). So, I'm very excited to be in the office more.

    Like

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

