Swear Pyramid

In order to clean up our language so Evan doesn’t learn awful things from us, we have a swear jar at home. Every time we swear or say/do something inappropriate, we have to put in $0.25. This money will go in to a saving’s account for Evan. It’s amazing how much money is in the jar already, but we’re definitely cutting down.

How do we deem something is inappropriate? Basically, if we wouldn’t want Evan to repeat it, we have to put $$ in.

A few days ago, we got into a debate about whether certain words or phrases should be worth more money. We disagreed on which swears were more insulting/inappropriate.

So, my awesome readers, please put the following common swear words in order from the most to the least level of inappropriateness (using some symbols so sicko Google searches don’t bring my blog up):

@ss, @sshole, b!tch, cr@p, d@mn, fr!ckin’/fra¢kin’, fu¢k, he¢k, hell, sh!t

Also, where would you put the following in the list:

– “yo’ mama” jokes
– taking the Lords name in vain

Comments on: "Swear Pyramid" (12)

  1. b!tch
    fu¢k
    fr!ckin'/fra¢kin'
    -“yo mamma”
    d@mn
    hell
    he¢k
    cr@p
    @sshole
    @ss
    sh!t

    Over here we also have c*nt as a very popular swear word, and I use it (oh no!!), but at the same time I hate myself for saying it because it is SOOO rude and I would never want my kid under the age of whatever use that.. Oh, and wh*re is popular too.

    taking the Lords name in vein does not bother me personally since I am not religious, although I can imagine people who do find that inappropriate, so I put that higher up the ladder for when I interact with people of whom I am not sure about their religion.

    Like

  2. I find this hilarious only because Mike and I had the SAME conversation the other day. We might have to institute a swear jar (although I never have cash, so it might have to be an IOU and then we deposit the money in her account).

    fu¢k
    b!tch
    @ss,
    @sshole
    cr@p,
    sh!t
    hell
    d@mn
    fr!ckin'/fra¢kin'
    he¢k

    We don't do too many Yo Mama jokes, and most of them I think are pretty funny, but obviously wouldn't want her to hear. and the Lords name I always take in vain, so that doesn't rank up on our list I guess. I try not to around a certain friend of mine, but it doesn't always work.

    Like

  3. I would split them into swear words:
    fu¢k, @ss, @sshole, b!tch, sh!t, cr@p

    and swear words light (I don't think they are offensive and I will use them, but other people may be offended):
    hell, d@mn, fr!ckin'/fra¢kin', he¢k

    I honestly don't think that hell counts as a swear word (I am not religious) but my son was reprimanded at school at some point for saying it and there are a lot of sensitive people around. I actually use he¢k as a permissible substitute, so I wouldn't call it a swear word either. I use darn as a substitute for d@mn, and fr!ckin' as a substitute for fu¢kin'. Cr@p also doesn't rank high on my list of offensive words, but I guess anything referring to feces is probably best left out of most conversation.

    My older son likes Yo Mama jokes so we don't make a big deal out of it, and I often take the Lord's name in vain; again, mentioning God does not offend my sensibilities in the least but there are enough religious/sensitive people around that I have to watch my tongue…

    Like

  4. This is fun!

    fu¢k
    @sshole
    b!tch
    @ss
    sh!t
    cr@p
    fr!ckin'/fra¢kin'
    d@mn
    hell
    he¢k

    Or thereabouts.

    I don't think you have to worry about him repeating yo mama jokes for a few years yet, and as others have said, taking the Lord's name in vain bothers me not one little bit, but YMMV.

    If you're searching for alternatives, look out for the Norton antivirus commercials that seem to be on TV non-stop at the moment. “You gargling snort wappler!” (or whatever it is they say) and things like that would just be cute if Evan said them. And fun for Mum and Dad too 😀

    Like

  5. It's interesting to see how the ranking differs. I wonder if it's a regional thing?

    As for some of the other words mentioned, I only listed those we use on a regular basis. I would kill Evan if he said c*nt!! That is worse than all those listed, IMO.

    I also don't get offended with taking the Lord's name in vain. I do it ALL the time. But, I don't really want Evan doing it, so it's on the list.

    Like

  6. Cath – we must have crossed posts! I've never seen the Norton commercials – I'll have to look them up!

    Like

  7. Ooh, this is interesting! Here's mine:

    fu¢k
    sh!t
    b!tch
    Lord's name in vain
    @sshole,
    @ss/d@mn
    cr@p
    hell
    fr!ckin'/fra¢kin'/he¢k – none of these really bother me

    We also don't tell “yo mama” jokes, but Hubby does have some, ahem, “funny” statements he likes to say, at which I've started snapping at him about when he does it in front of Monkey!

    Like

  8. Dr.O – yeah,there's a lot of things DH says/does that I snap at him for too! LOL!

    Like

  9. Ok, here's the list Jason and I came up with. Frickin and Frackin' ended up in the middle since we really couldn't decide where to put them:

    fu¢k
    b!tch
    sh!t
    @sshole
    @ss
    fr!ckin'/fra¢kin'
    d@mn
    hell
    cr@p
    he¢k

    I don't think the Yo Mamma jokes are really a big deal but maybe avoid saying those within earshot until he's old enough to understand the concept of “appropriate time and place” 😉

    Like

  10. Here's one of the Norton commercials:

    http://youtu.be/xrip4AvOCa8

    Like

  11. Andrea – that's probably good advice for a lot of things.

    Cath – LOL! Thanks for sharing!

    Like

  12. Haha. I'll suggest that to my husband, all his income would go in the jar 😉

    Like

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

