First Month on the Job

It has been almost a month since I started my new job, and I love it so far. The teachers, graduate students, staff, and faculty I work with are all so enthusiastic and excited about outreach. There are no nay-sayers (as I’ve dealt with plenty of times in the past). In fact, it’s the opposite, with everyone wanting to do everything, but not having the time or resources!

That being said, it has been increasingly difficult having Evan at home. That is mostly because I’ve been having more and more meetings as the month goes on, and having Evan attend those meetings is slightly distracting. Thankfully, DH has been able to help out during the day and has taken Evan for an hour or two (or more) pretty much every day for the past two weeks. He is awesome, and I can’t thank him enough for making my first month on the job a bit easier.

DH is taking the first week off in July, and Evan starts daycare that week too. So, DH will help Evan with that transition while I’m able to go into the office. Although I’m slightly excited about Evan starting daycare, I’m also nervous about it – will he like the staff? how will he deal with the other babies? will he cry the entire time? will he forget and/or hate me? – but I imagine every parent feels that way.

As I go into my second month on the job, I feel confident and excited. I have meetings scheduled with all sorts of interesting people to brainstorm ideas for new events, activities, and workshops. I am incredibly blessed that I have a wonderful husband, an amazing son, great family and friends, and now a fantastic job career. It feels like I’m finally where I’m supposed to be and doing what I’m supposed to be doing.

Someone pinch me! On second thought — don’t!

Comments on: "First Month on the Job" (6)

  1. Thats great about the job! always makes it better to like it and like the people.

    As far as Evan and DC goes, I had those same exact thoughts. I remember the week before I was sending her I wanted to write up this long letter on how to deal with her and DH gave me the look like really??

    In the end I didn't and it's been a blessing for her, she LOVES It there, loves her teachers and just yesterday they wrote on her sheet that she loves babies! It didn't take her long to get adjusted (it might take Evan a bit since he is older). Gabby was only 3 months but I know he will do fine, and I have to say that the time away from her (even if I am working) is good for the both of us. The best part of my day is when I go to pick her up (or DH brings her home) and she sees me and drops what she is doing and comes crawling to me. She just gets so excited!!

    Like

  2. sounds exciting! be prepared that Evan will cry bloody murder when you drop him off but within 2 minutes he will be happily playing. It will get to a point where he will not want to come home! Monkey is really missing hanging with his friends now that he's home with me.

    Like

  3. Congrats on finishing up the first month – and loving it!! Daycare will be hard at the beginning – mainly on you – but it'll get better (seriously, I can't believe how many times I've said that phrase!) Monkey smiles huge at me when I'm leaving and smiles huge at Daddy when he's picking him up. Not a bad deal at all.

    Like

  4. Jess – it will be interesting to see if/how his age plays a factor. Then again, I guess I can't really compare it to anything!

    SM – that's why DH will be dropping him off and I'll be picking him up 😉

    Micro Dr. O – that's awesome! I think the past month of trying to work while having him at home will make the transition a bit easier on me, but I know it'll still be hard.

    Like

  5. Congrats on your new career! It sounds like you've finally found the perfect fit–yay!!

    And yes, the transition to daycare will be hard at first. But you and DH and Evan WILL get through it. A good daycare center can offer so much. My kids both went through some rough spots with daycare, but they both ended up LOVING all the activities and friends and caring teachers. Legume does all kinds of cool projects at her daycare center that I would never even think of on my own!

    Like

  6. I totally agree with everyone- day care transition is hard at first, mostly on you. The only babies I know who had what could be termed a hard time were the ones who wouldn't take a bottle at first. But that's not a problem for you, so I'm sure Evan will be fine.

    And it does get lots easier. I don't stress about it AT ALL anymore.

    Like

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

