Grandma M

My paternal grandmother passed away earlier this week. She was a month away from being 95, and had been in a home for a while, so it wasn’t unexpected; however, it’s sad nonetheless.

I haven’t seen much of her in my adult years, but I have lots of fond memories of her from my childhood. My parents would send my brother and I to visit her for a week or two during the summer. She always had wonderful goodies in the fridge and freezer, gorgeous flowers growing outside that she let me pick, and a giant yard where we would play endlessly. She was so caring and loving, especially when I was home sick. She was constantly smiling and laughing.

For some reason, one of my clearest memories of her was during a drive between Alberta and Saskatchewan. Every time we passed horses, she would say “Look! Cows!!” and I would giggle and say “No, Grandma! Those are horses!!”. I don’t know why that stuck with me, but it always makes me smile.

Back in May, Evan and I made a visit to Saskatchewan, seeing both my grandmothers. I am so glad he was able to meet her before she passed, and it was wonderful the way he made her smile.

Grandma, I hope you know you are deeply loved and that you’re now with all your family and friends who passed before you. See you on the other side.

Comments on: "Grandma M" (8)

  1. Jenn, PhD said:

    What a touching post. I'm so sorry for your loss, it's always sad to lose a loved one 😦

    Like

  2. I'm so sorry for your loss. She sounds like a truly wonderful lady. Many prayers to you and your family!

    Like

  3. i'm so so sorry for your loss. Just because you know something is going to happen, doesn't make it any easier. Many many virtual hugs.

    Like

  4. I'm sorry for your loss, but glad that you have so many happy memories of her.

    That is a seriously adorable photo btw.

    Like

  5. I'm so sorry for your loss, Alyssa. I love the story you told about your Grandma M, she sounded like a lovely person and a wonderful grandma.

    Like

  6. What a blessing to have such special memories of your grandmother. Is that you (the baby) in the photo? I could have sworn it was Evan.

    Like

  7. sorry for your loss Alyssa, but glad you have such wonderful memories. Grandparents are something very special

    Like

  8. I'm sorry to hear about your loss 😦 It is good to keep the memories alive, and wonderful that she got to meet the baby.

    My grandmother passed away at exactly the same age as yours, briefly before my wedding five years ago. Two weeks ago would have been her 100th birthday. I find it very sad she never got to meet her grand-grandchildren.

    Like

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

