My ninth book of the year was The Memory Keeper’s Daughter by Kim Edwards. The story begins with a mother giving birth to twins, one of which had Downs Syndrome. The father decides to give the baby away, and the rest of the story is about how that secret influences many lives.

This was a beautifully written book. The narratives transport you to another place, and I was captivated many times by the use of her words.

But, honestly, the book just did not hold my attention. Evidence: it took me almost two months to read it. I felt the story basically went nowhere, and was incredibly predictable. Being a mother, I usually feel strong emotions when I read books about children and parenthood, but I did not connect with the characters at all. I don’t know what it was – perhaps Edwards was so focused on the narrative that the characters were lost.

I give this book a 2.5/5, because it was beautifully written, but the character development and storyline severely lacked.

Comments on: "The Memory Keeper’s Daughter: A Book Review" (5)

  1. I felt the same about this book – great idea and well written, but it just…lacked something.

    Like

  2. I have heard very mixed comments about this one so I've been avoiding it. I think it might finally be time to just take it off the list. Thanks for taking one for the team 😉

    Like

  3. Yep, I 100% agree with you and Cath. I liked the idea and I really WANTED to enjoy the book but I just didn't.

    What is next on your book list?

    Like

  4. I'm glad my opinion isn't way off base! I really did want to like it, but oh well.

    Andrea – if you ever want to read it, you can borrow it from me.

    Like

  5. Oh, and Liz, I'm reading Motorcycles & Sweetgrass by Drew Hayden Taylor right now and I'm quite enjoying it!

    Like

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

