Book Review: House Rules

My 11th book of the year was House Rules by Jodi Picoult. I’m a fan of her books, and this one did not disappoint. It’s about an 18 year-old boy (Jacob) with Asperger’s Syndrome. He has a fascination with forensic science, and because of this he gets in the middle of a murder case and becomes the prime suspect.

I do not know a lot about Asperger’s, but it seemed like Picoult portrayed it very well in this book. It was frustrating to read from the mother’s (Emma) point of view, learning all she has to deal with and how she had to give up her whole life. But, you could also feel the love she has for her son, and how she wouldn’t want him any other way. It was also interesting reading from Jacob’s perspective, and I would be interested to know how accurate his portrayal is.

The plot was typical Picoult, with twists, gasp-able moments, and big court scenes. Typically good, I might add.

There were a couple things that did rub me the wrong way though:
1. The whole story wouldn’t have ever developed if there was a bit of simple communication from another character – nicoleandmaggie wrote about this kind of thing just a few days ago.
2. The “connection” between vaccinations and autism was mentioned a few times, and that made my head hurt and skin crawl.

I’m giving this book a 4/5.

Comments on: "Book Review: House Rules" (3)

  1. Ugh, the antivax thing drives me batty too!

    This sounds interesting. There's a book on our club list that is written from the perspective of a young boy with Aspergers and it is done quite accurately, from what I know of Aspergers and ASD. It's The Case of the Dog in the Nighttime by Mark Haddon. It's a good read.

    Like

  2. Right – I forgot about that book! It was good too, and it was portrayed in a very similar way in this book.

    Like

  3. Alyssa – I read this one a few months ago and completely agree with your review. I loved it (couldn't put it down) but kept thinking through the entire thing about the miscommunication and how it would have solved so many issues 😉

    Like

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

